UW News

March 12, 2009

Universitywide award recipients announced

The University will honor 23 individuals and one team of two this year as part of the annual Universitywide awards program. The awards honor outstanding performance in teaching, mentoring, librarianship, public service and staff support.

Seven faculty will receive the Distinguished Teaching Award, given to faculty who show “a mastery of their subject matter, intellectual rigor and a passion for teaching.” This year’s winners are Eugene Aisenberg, social work; Steve Herbert, geography; Dolphine Oda, dentistry; Catrin Pittack, biological structure; John Webster, English; Peter Littig, interdisciplinary arts and sciences (Bothell); and Janice Laakso, social work (Tacoma).

Two graduate teaching assistants — Ed Chang, English; and, Sachi Schmidt-Hori, Asian languages and literature — will receive the Excellence in Teaching Award for demonstrating outstanding skills in the classroom.

Richard Strathman, Friday Harbor labs, will receive the Marsha L. Landolt Distinguished Graduate Mentor Award, recognizing faculty members who have made outstanding contributions to the education and guidance of graduate students.

Four individual staff members and one team of two will receive Distinguished Staff Awards. The winners are Cynthia Anderson, CHID; Alex Danilchik, drama; Laura Davenport, aerospace studies; MarDee Schaefer, UW Medical Center anesthesiology; and the team of Linda Lawson and Alejandro Moreno, Harborview psychiatry. These awards are given to staff who “contribute to the mission of their unit or the University, respond creatively to challenges, maintain the highest standards in their work, establish productive working relationships and promote a respectful and supportive workplace.”

Richard Ladner, computer science and engineering, is the winner of the Outstanding Public Service Award, which is presented to a faculty or staff member to honor extensive local and/or national and international service. Also being honored for service is Kern Ewing, forest resources, who will receive the S. Sterling Munro Public Service Teaching Award. The award is given to a faculty member demonstrating exemplary leadership in community-based instruction, including service learning, public service internships and community partnership projects.

The James D. Clowes Award for the Advancement of Learning Communities will be given this year to Tetsuden Kashima, American ethnic studies. The award recognizes a faculty or staff member who transforms undergraduate learning by creating or sustaining learning communities among students.

Cindy Atman, center for engineering learning and teaching; and Jill McKinstry, Odegaard library, are the winners of the David B. Thorud Leadership Award. The award honors those who lead, serve, inspire and collaborate with broad-ranging impact that is beyond their regular responsibilities. Atman is the faculty winner and McKinstry the staff winner.

Mary Whisner, Gallagher law library is this year’s Distinguished Librarian. The award recognizes excellence in librarianship, especially as it benefits the academic community through teaching, research, learning, and innovative approaches to practice.

Oleta Beard, business school, is the winner of the Distinguished Contributions to Lifelong Learning Award, which is given to faculty who have taught for at least two years in non-degree programs sponsored by the UW and aimed at adults for professional development, personal interest or career redirection.

Wayne Quinton, a pioneer in bioengineering, is the winner of this year’s Alumnus Summa Laude Dignatus, an award given not for recent work but for a lifetime record of achievement. It is the highest honor that the UW can bestow on a graduate.

Kay Larson, a volunteer for the UW Alumni Association, is being honored with the Alumni Association Distinguished Service Award. The award is given to individuals who make outstanding efforts on behalf of the association.

The award winners will be honored at a special Universitywide Recognition Ceremony, scheduled for 3:30-4:30 p.m. Thursday, June 11, in Meany Hall, with a reception to follow in the foyer. The ceremony is free and open to the public. University Week will publish a special online awards issue profiling all the winners on June 4.