Skip to content

2018 Awards of Excellence recipients announced

The University of Washington has announced this year’s Awards of Excellence recipients being recognized for achievements in teaching, mentoring, public service and staff support.

The winners will be honored at 3:30 p.m. on June 7 in Meany Hall for the UW community and general public. The program includes a one-hour ceremony hosted by President Ana Mari Cauce and Provost and Executive Vice President Jerry Baldasty, followed by a reception with hors d’oeuvres, desserts, a photo booth, and a chance to connect and celebrate with your team members and the rest of the UW community. Please invite your colleagues, friends and family!

Check out the short promotional video below and continue reading to see this year’s complete list of winners.

Distinguished Staff Award

  • Jerrett Roberge, Machinery Mechanic Lead, Facilities Services
  • Kelly Canaday, Adviser and Program Manager, Dance, College of Arts & Sciences
  • Robin V. Luke, Dental Hygienist, School of Dentistry
  • Wai Pang Chan, Research Coordinator, Biology, College of Arts & Sciences, Division of Natural Science
  • Master Plan Core Team, Capital Planning & Development, University Architect and UW Bothell:
    • Julie Blakeslee, Environmental & Land Use Planner
    • Kristine Kenney, Director of Campus Design & Planning
    • Kelly Snyder, Assistant Vice Chancellor for Government & Community Relations
    • Amy Van Dyke, Director of Physical Planning and Space Management

David B. Thorud Leadership Award

  • Faculty award: Gail Joseph, Associate Professor, College of Education
  • Staff award: Sonya G. Cunningham, Director, STARS Program, College of Engineering

Distinguished Librarian Award

Leslie Hurst, Head of Teaching & Learning and Literature & Humanities Librarian, Campus Library, UW Bothell and Cascadia College, University Libraries

Alumni Association Distinguished Service Award

Ralina Joseph, Associate Professor, Communication, and Director, Center for Communication, Difference and Equity

Distinguished Retiree Excellence in Community Service Award

Robert Crawford, Professor Emeritus, School of Interdisciplinary Arts & Sciences, UW Tacoma

Distinguished Teaching Award

  • Megan Ming Francis, Associate Professor, Political Science, College of Arts & Sciences
  • Alexes Harris, Presidential Term Professor, Sociology, College of Arts & Sciences
  • Frances McCue, Senior Lecturer, English, College of Arts & Sciences
  • Chelsea L. Wood, Assistant Professor, Aquatic and Fishery Sciences, College of the Environment
  • Ekin Yaşin, Senior Lecturer, Communication, and Associate Director, Communication Leadership Program, College of Arts & Sciences
  • Karam Dana, Assistant Professor, School of Interdisciplinary Arts & Sciences, UW Bothell
  • Danica Sterud Miller, Assistant Professor, School of Interdisciplinary Arts & Sciences, UW Tacoma

Distinguished Teaching Award for Innovation with Technology

Jane A. Van Galen, Professor, School of Educational Studies, UW Bothell

Distinguished Teaching Legacy Award

William D. Cole, Professor, Music, and Director, Husky Marching Band (Athletics)

Excellence in Teaching Award

  • Sarah Faulkner, Instructor and Ph.D. Candidate, English, College of Arts & Sciences
  • Eldridge Alcantara, Ph.D. Student, Electrical Engineering, College of Engineering

Distinguished Contributions to Lifelong Learning Award

P. Dee Boersma, Professor, Biology, College of Arts & Sciences

University Faculty Lecture Award

Quintard Taylor, Scott and Dorothy Bullitt Professor of American History, History, College of Arts & Sciences

Marsha L. Landolt Distinguished Graduate Mentor Award

Suzie Hwang Pun, Robert F. Rushmer Professor, Bioengineering, College of Engineering and UW Medicine

Distinguished Alumni Veteran Award

Raymond D. Emory, ’52, U.S. Navy (retired), College of Built Environments (formerly Architecture)

Outstanding Public Service

Elizabeth Dawson-Hahn, Acting Assistant Professor, Pediatrics, UW Medicine

President’s Medals

  • Grace Shannon Woodard, Psychology, College of Arts & Sciences
  • Andrew Vo, Education, Communities and Organizations, College of Education

Alumnus Summa Laude Dignatus

Orin C. Smith, ’65, Business