Skip to content

2017 Awards of Excellence recipients announced

The University of Washington has announced this year’s Awards of Excellence recipients being recognized for achievements in teaching, mentoring, public service and staff support.

The winners will be honored at 3:30 p.m. June 8 at a ceremony in Meany Hall for the campus and general public.

Distinguished Staff Award
Saeid Rastegar, Regulated Materials Manager, Facilities Services
Susan Reynolds, Social Worker, Social Work and Coordinated Care, UW Medical Center
Kay Soder, Assistant Nurse Manager, Psychiatry & Behavioral Sciences, Harborview Medical Center
Cassk Thomas, Custodian, Building Services

Washington MESA Team, Office of Minority Affairs and Diversity:

  • Lucy Casale, Senior Program Director
  • James Dorsey, Executive Director
  • Phyllis Harvey-Buschel, Director of K-12 Programs
  • Ku’ulani Seto, Executive Assistant

David B. Thorud Leadership Award
Faculty award: Greg Miller, Professor and Chair, Civil & Environmental Engineering, College of Engineering
Staff award: Connie Bourassa-Shaw, Director, Buerk Center for Entrepreneurship, Foster School of Business

Distinguished Librarian Award
Mary St. Germain, Head of Near East Section, International Studies, University Libraries

Alumni Association Distinguished Service Award
Mr. Eddie Pasatiempo, Alumnus, Department of Communication

Distinguished Retiree Excellence in Community Service Award
Joy Plein, Professor Emeritus, School of Pharmacy

Distinguished Teaching Award
Gaylene Altman, Associate Professor, Biobehavioral Nursing and Health Informatics, School of Nursing
Arbella Bet-Shlimon, Assistant Professor, History
Steve Calandrillo, Jeffrey & Susan Brotman Professor, School of Law
Inma Raneda-Cuartero, Senior Lecturer, Spanish and Portuguese Studies
Kristi Straus, Lecturer, Program on the Environment, College of the Environment
Alan Boss, Assistant Professor, School of Business, UW Bothell
Dr. Divya McMillin, Professor, Interdisciplinary Arts & Sciences, UW Tacoma

Distinguished Teaching Award for Innovation with Technology
Dr. Jody Early, Associate Professor, School of Nursing & Health Studies, UW Bothell

Excellence in Teaching Award
Jared Stewart, Graduate Student, Political Science
Brianna Yamasaki, Graduate Instructor and Teaching Assistant, Psychology

Distinguished Contributions to Lifelong Learning Award
Richard Gleason, Senior Lecturer, Environmental and Occupational Health Sciences, School of Public Health

University Faculty Lecture Award
Michael Gelb, Professor and Boris and Barbara L. Weinstein Endowed Chair in Chemistry; Adjunct Professor, Biochemistry

Marsha L. Landolt Distinguished Graduate Mentor Award
Michael McCann, Professor, Political Science

Distinguished Alumni Veteran Award
General Peter W. Chiarelli, U.S. Army (retired), Evans School

Outstanding Public Service
Helen Teresa “Trez” Buckland, Clinical Assistant Professor, Biobehavioral Nursing and Health Systems, School of Nursing

President’s Medals

  • Narmina Sharifova, Law, Societies and Justice
  • Celina Gunnarsson, Bioengineering

Alumnus Summa Laude Dignatus
The Honorable Norman Rice, Evans School and Department of Communication