Skip to content

2016 Awards of Excellence recipients announced

The University of Washington has announced this year’s Awards of Excellence recipients being recognized for achievements in teaching, mentoring, public service and staff support.

The winners will be honored at 3:30 p.m. June 9 at a ceremony in Meany Hall for the campus and general public.

Distinguished Staff Award
Sabine Aboltina, hospital assistant, Harborview Medical Center
Magdalena Fonseca, associate director, Office of Minority Affairs & Diversity
David Peterson, engineering technician, Center for Experimental Nuclear Physics and Astrophysics
Barbara Purington, administrator, applied physics

ICD-10 Program Team, UW Medicine:

  • Sally Beahan, director, health information management
  • Carol Garsi, coding manager
  • Sarah Lucas, program director
  • Rebecca Revand, project manager

David B. Thorud Leadership Award
Faculty award: Dr. Norman Beauchamp, professor and chair, radiology, School of Medicine
Staff award: Steven Hiller, director of planning and assessment, University Libraries

Distinguished Librarian Award
Cassandra Hartnett, U.S. documents librarian and gender, women & sexuality studies librarian, University Libraries

Alumni Association Distinguished Service Award
Greg Sheridan, senior associate vice president, University Advancement

Distinguished Retiree Excellence in Community Service Award
Sandra Adams Motzer, associate professor emeritus, School of Nursing

Distinguished Teaching Award
Nyan-Ping Bi, senior lecturer, Asian languages and literature
Cole DeForest, assistant professor, chemical engineering
Wendy Thomas, associate professor, bioengineering
Catherine Connors, professor and chair, classics
Linda Martin-Morris, principal lecturer, biology
Janelle Silva, assistant professor, interdisciplinary arts & sciences, UW Bothell
Yan Bai, associate professor, Institute of Technology, UW Tacoma

Distinguished Teaching Award for Innovation with Technology
David Masuda, lecturer, biomedical informatics and medical education

Excellence in Teaching Award
Jonathan Rosenberg, teaching assistant, philosophy
Jorge Tomasevic, teaching assistant, environmental and forest sciences

Distinguished Contributions to Lifelong Learning Award
Joe P. Mahoney, professor, civil and environmental engineering

University Faculty Lecture Award
Ray Hilborn, professor, aquatic and fishery sciences

Marsha L. Landolt Distinguished Graduate Mentor Award
Sandra Silberstein, professor, English

Distinguished Alumni Veteran Award
Colonel Margarethe Cammermeyer

Outstanding Public Service
Augustine McCaffery, senior academic program specialist, academic affairs and planning

Alumna Summa Laude Dignata
The Honorable Sally Jewell