Faculty & Staff Insider

April 2, 2015

2015 Awards of Excellence recipients announced

The University of Washington has announced this year’s Awards of Excellence recipients being recognized for achievements in teaching, mentoring, public service and staff support.

The winners will be honored at 3:30 p.m. June 11 at a ceremony in Meany Hall for the campus and general public.

Distinguished Staff Award
Ross Braine, tribal liaison, Office of Minority Affairs & Diversity
Carolyn Chow, director of admissions and multicultural student affairs, School of Nursing
Kathryn Folk-Way, associate director, creative communications
Irawati Lam, registered nurse, radiation oncology
Stephen Weber, access services supervisor, Odegaard Undergraduate Library

David B. Thorud Leadership Award
Faculty award: Edward D. Lazowska, Bill & Melinda Gates Chair, computer science & engineering

Staff award: Chance Reschke, director of research computing, UW-IT

Distinguished Librarian Award
Steven Shadle, serials access librarian, cataloging and metadata services

Alumni Association Distinguished Service Award
Susan W. Williams

Distinguished Retiree Excellence in Community Service Award
Alvin Kwiram, emeritus professor & emeritus vice provost for research, chemistry

Distinguished Teaching Award
Oleta Beard, senior lecturer, marketing and international business
Jerry F. Franklin, professor, environmental and forest sciences
Chris Laws, senior lecturer, astronomy
Taryn Lindhorst, associate professor, social work
Emily Pahnke, assistant professor, management and organization
Wayne Au, associate professor, educational studies, UW Bothell
Ellen Moore, Lecturer, communication, UW Tacoma

Distinguished Teaching Award for Innovation with Technology
Andrew Boydston, assistant professor, chemistry
Jasmine Bryant, lecturer, chemistry
Colleen Craig, lecturer, chemistry
Stefan Stoll, assistant professor, chemistry

Excellence in Teaching Award
Matthew Junge, graduate student, mathematics
Kate Napolitan, graduate student, education

Distinguished Contributions to Lifelong Learning Award
Ann Downer, associate professor, global health

University Faculty Lecture Award
Donald K. Grayson, professor, anthropology

Marsha L. Landolt Distinguished Graduate Mentor Award
Daniel T. Schwartz, professor, chemical engineering

Distinguished Alumni Veteran Award
Richard Howard Layton, M.D.

President’s Medalists
Sara Leonetti, President’s Medalist for the student who has completed most of his/her degree requirements at the UW

Sanjit Kaur, President’s Medalist for the student who transferred to the UW from a Washington community college

Alumnus Summa Laude Dignatus
The Honorable Norman D. Dicks