Diversity at the UW

Board Members

The Native American Advisory Board is made up of tribal representatives from tribal governments and Native American (American Indian/Alaska Native) organizations from around Washington state. Members serve by invitation from the Vice President for Minority Affairs & Diversity Rickey Hall. (All the federally recognized Washington territory tribal governments receive updates and invitational announcements of the quarterly meetings.)

American Indian and Alaska Native staff and faculty at the University of Washington serve as “resource” to the NAAB.

Current board members:

  • Theresa Sheldon (Tulalip) – NAAB Chair
  • Minty Longearth  (Santee/Creek/Choctaw) – NAAB Vice-Chair
  • Tommy Segundo (Haida/Katzie) – NAAB Historian
  • Patricia Whitefoot (Yakama) – Immediate Past Chair
  • Romayne Watt (Senaca) – Retired, Seattle Public Schools
  • LaVerne Wise (Tlingit) – Central Council of the Tlingit & Haida Tribes of Alaska
  • Marjorie James (Tulalip) – Curriculum and Engagement Manager, Education, Tulalip Tribes
  • Greg Masten (Yurok) – Executive Director & Education Liaison, NWIC Foundation
  • Gail Morris (NuuChahNulth) – Director, Huchoosedah, SPS #1
  • Winona Stevens (Ho-Chunk) – DOC Program at UIATF
  • Willard Bill, Jr. (Muckleshoot) – Muckleshoot Canoe Family
  • Robbie Paul (Nimiipuu) – Retired, Washington State University Native American Health Sciences
  • John Sirois (Colville) – Committee Coordinator, Upper Columbia United Tribes
  • Joel Boyd (Colville) – Colville Confederated Tribes