Streamlined Access lists
- Enter or update your access information once, and it will display on the centralized access page shared by both your eGC1 and its connected SAGE Budget.
- Control who receives notifications by keeping your access list current. Now Budget and eGC1 Preparers, formerly known as Creators, may be updated by anyone with Read/Write access.
Access page for one eGC1 and its connected budget
If you have different Administrative and Budget Contacts, and eGC1 and Budget Preparers listed on your eGC1 and SAGE budget when they are connected:
- No users will lose their access.
- The Administrative Contact, Budget Contact, and Budget Preparer will be taken from SAGE Budget. The Administrative and Budget Contacts listed in the eGC1 will be assigned Read Write access. Anyone with Write access may change these to Read Only or No Access.
- Note: If your budget does not have an Administrative or Budget Contact, the contacts will be taken from the connected eGC1 if it has contacts.
- The PI and eGC1 Preparer will come from the eGC1 in SAGE.
- Users will be given their highest level of access to the connected eGC1 and SAGE Budget. For example, a user with Read-Only access to the SAGE Budget and Read Write access to the eGC1, will receive Read Write access to both.
- Read Write is the highest level of access. Read Only is the next highest level, and No Access is the lowest level.
- Owners (contacts, preparers, and PI) always have Read Write access.
When you disconnect a budget from an eGC1, each item will be given the same contacts and list of users with assigned access. However, the Budget Preparer role will not be displayed on the eGC1, and the eGC1 Preparer and eGC1 PI will not be displayed on the access list in SAGE Budget.
Access page for multiple eGC1s and their connected budget
- Access lists for eGC1s and their connected budget will be merged.
- The creator of the most recent eGC1 will be treated as the eGC1 Preparer on the combined access list and given Read Write access.
- Creators of all other eGC1s will be given Read-Only access.
- The PI on the current eGC1 will receive email notifications and be listed as an owner. The former PIs will show up on the personnel page on the old eGC1, and have Read-Only access to the current eGC1 and budget. The former PIs will not receive email notifications. The newer PI will display on the My eGC1s page, so you will be unable to search for an eGC1 using the former PI’s name.
- Owners receive notifications, people assigned Read Only and Read Write access do not.
Access for Global Editors
Global Edit users are not listed on the eGC1 or Budget. They only have access to eGC1s not in the Composing status. They will have read/write access to connected budgets.
Notes, tips, and warnings
- If you are preparing your eGC1 and budget at the same time, connect your budget before filling out the access page. You will only need to fill in the information once.
- Note: To simplify the access page, the SAGE team removed the following contact fields: Academic Home Unit, Fax, Cell Phone and Pager.
- If you remove yourself as an owner from the Contacts & Assign Access page for an eGC1 in composing status or withdrawn status with no approvals, you will have no access to the eGC1 or any connected budgets. If the eGC1 has been approved or returned, you will be given read-only access.
- Make sure you are connecting the correct budget. Otherwise, the wrong people may end up on the access list.
- Older budgets associated to eGC1s do not have a live link and will not have their access lists merged.