Office of the President

May 25, 2011

Join us for the 2011 UW Awards of Excellence


Please join me in celebrating the outstanding achievements of
our faculty, staff, students and alumni
at the 41st Annual Awards of Excellence.

Thursday, June 9, 2011
Meany Hall Auditorium
3:30 p.m. Awards Ceremony
4:30 p.m. Reception
Reservations are not required.

The Awards of Excellence honor members of the UW community who exemplify the University’s values with special distinction. While the first ceremony was held in 1970, the origins of these awards date back to 1938, when the Alumnus Summa Laude Dignatus Award was first presented. Since that time, other awards have been added to pay tribute to individuals from across our UW community who have demonstrated exceptional talents, dedication and service.

To read more about these awards and their history, visit the Honors & Awards site.

2011 UW Awards of Excellence Recipients

Distinguished Staff Award
Given to staff who contribute to the mission of their unit and the University, respond creatively to challenges, maintain the highest standards in their work, establish productive working relationships and promote a respectful and supportive workplace

  • Ann M. Buscherfeld, Political Science
  • Ujima E. Donalson, Professional & Organizational Development
  • Tanya Eng-Aquino, Psychiatry & Behavioral Sciences
  • Troy Swanson, Campus Engineering & Operations
  • Lori Mitchell, Paul Ishizuka, Tammy Ayyoub and Charles Brown, CHARMS Project Team, UW Medicine and Harborview Medical Center

Distinguished Librarian Award
Recognizes excellence in librarianship, especially as it benefits the academic community through teaching, research, learning and innovative approaches to practice

  • Nancy Huling, Reference and Research Services, Libraries

Alumni Association Distinguished Service Award
Given to individuals who make outstanding efforts on behalf of the UW Alumni Association and the University

  • Patricia L. Bostrom, ’72

Distinguished Teaching Award
Presented to faculty who show a mastery of their subject matter, intellectual rigor and a passion for teaching

  • P.V. (Sundar) Balakrishnan, Business, UW Bothell
  • Valerie Curtis-Newton, Drama
  • Christina Fong, Management & Organization
  • Jonathan Mercer, Political Science
  • Stuart Reges, Computer Science & Engineering
  • William Talbott, Philosophy
  • Matthew Weinstein, Education, UW Tacoma

Excellence in Teaching Award
Given to graduate teaching assistants who demonstrate outstanding skills in the classroom

  • Andrew Cockrell, Political Science
  • Natasha Jones, Human Centered Design & Engineering

Distinguished Contributions to Lifelong Learning Award
Presented to faculty who have taught for at least two years in non-degree programs sponsored by the UW and aimed at adults for professional development, personal interest or career redirection

  • Layne Goldsmith, Art

James D. Clowes Award for the Advancement of Learning Communities
Recognizes a faculty or staff member who transforms undergraduate learning at the UW through the development of learning communities

  • David Prince, Engineering

S. Sterling Munro Public Service Teaching Award
Recognizes a faculty member who has demonstrated exemplary leadership in community-based instruction, including service learning, public service internships and community partnership projects

  • Morva McDonald, Education

University Faculty Lecture Award
Honors current or emeriti faculty whose research, scholarship or art is widely recognized by their peers and whose achievements have substantially impacted their profession

  • Lance Bennett, Political Science and Communication

Marsha L. Landolt Distinguished Graduate Mentor Award
Recognizes faculty members who have made outstanding contributions to the education and guidance of graduate students

  • David Takeuchi, Social Work

Outstanding Public Service Award
Presented to a faculty or staff member to honor extensive local and/or national and international service

  • Tracy Harachi, Social Work

President’s Medal
Awarded to two graduating seniors who have achieved the most distinguished academic records at the University—one to a student who has completed at least three-fourths of his or her degree requirements at the UW and one to a student who entered the University from a Washington community college

  • Jacob Tyler Bobman
  • Quyen Thi-Hoang Nguyen

Alumna Summa Laude Dignata
Awarded to a former UW student whose lifetime achievements have earned him or her national or international prominence

  • Jane Lubchenco, ’71

To request disability accommodation, contact the Disability Services Office at least 10 days in advance at: 206.543.6450 (voice), 206.543.6452 (TTY), 206.685.7264 (fax) or