Office of the President

October 13, 2010

2010 President’s Annual Address video

Gina Hills

Interim President Phyllis Wise delivered the 2010 President’s Annual Address to the university community on Tuesday. Watch an archived Webcast of the event >

President Wise would like to thank members of the UW community for comments on her blog and says she will post specific responses in the next few days.

Also see a new website about a Two Years to Two Decades (2y2d) Initiative that looks at the long-term health and stature of the UW.


The following is a sampling of awards from the 2009-2010 academic year. It’s more than President Wise had time to include in her address, but is still by no means an exhaustive list of the many accomplishments by members of our UW community.

Faculty Awards

  • Heather McHugh, Creative Writing, MacArthur Fellowship
  • Dee Boersma, Biology, Heinz Award
  • William Catterall, Pharmacology, Gairdner Award
  • Estella Leopold, Professor Emeritus of Biology, International Cosmos Prize
  • Jay and Maureen Neitz, Ophthalmology, cited on Time magazine’s list of top 10 scientific achievements for 2009 for their groundbreaking work using gene-therapy to treat color-blindness in monkeys
  • Dennis Lettenmaier, Civil and Environmental Engineering, election to the National Academy of Engineering
  • 2 faculty were named to National Academy of Sciences
  • Patricia Kuhl, Speech and Hearing Sciences, I-LABS
  • Lynn Riddiford, Biology
  • 6 faculty were selected as Fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science
  • Bonita Brewer, Genome Sciences
  • Margaret Byers, Professor Emeritus of Anesthesiology & Pain Medicine
  • William Catterall, Pharmacology
  • Michael Gelb, Chemistry
  • Elizabeth Halloran, Biostatistics
  • John Scott, Pharmacology
  • 2 faculty were named to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences
  • Ben Hall, Professor Emeritus of Biology
  • Ray Hilborn, Aquatic and Fishery Sciences

Student Awards

  • William Johnson, Putnam Fellow
  • Jesse Burk-Rafel, Luce Fellow
  • Justine Sherry, Computing Research Association’s Outstanding Undergraduate Research Award
  • 4 students named Goldwater Scholars
  • Devon Chandler-Brown
  • Noah Horwitz
  • Sherry Lee
  • Christopher Mount
  • 2 students named Morris Udall Scholars
  • Audrey Djunaedi
  • Geoffrey Morgan
  • Daetan Huck, National Security Education Program David L. Boren Undergraduate Scholar
  • Mathematical Modeling Contest Outstanding Winners
  • Mark Bun
  • Jerry Li
  • Ian Zemke
  • Jim Morrow (coach)

Other highlights from the year:

  • Michael Posner, alum, Psychology, Medal of Science
  • UW alumni once again led the nation in number of Peace Corps volunteers – 4th year in a row the UW has held this distinction
  • The UW was awarded 8 Title VI centers, tying the University of Wisconsin for the highest number of these centers
  • UW ranked 7th in the nation in the number of our students who participate in study abroad programs
  • U.S. News & World Report ranked the UW the 11th best public university in America
  • Jiao Tong University in Shanghai ranked the UW as the 16th best research university in the world
  • The Times of London ranked the UW as the 23rd best university in the world, #4 among American public universities