Federal Relations

August 10, 2011

More Super Committee Names

House Speaker John Boehner has appointed Ways and Means Chairman Dave Camp (R-MI), Energy and Commerce Chairman Fred Upton (R-MI), and Republican Conference Chairman Jeb Hensarling (R-TX) as the House GOP members of the deficit reduction “super committee.”  Hensarling will be co-chairman of the committee.  Senate Minority Leader Mitch McConnell also announced Wednesday the Senate Republican members:  Jon Kyl (R-AZ), Pat Toomey (R-PA), and Rob Portman (R-OH).

On Tuesday, Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid announced the Senate Democratic members of the committee: Patty Murray of Washington, John Kerry of Massachusetts and Max Baucus of Montana.  Murray will be the other co-chair.

House Minority Leader Nancy Pelosi has yet to name the House Democratic members of the committee.