Undergraduate Academic Affairs

Recipients of UAA Staff Recognition Awards

What you’ll find here: Debbie McGhee Award for Excellence // Leadership Awards // Distinguished Partner Award // Retired awards

Debbie McGhee Award for Excellence

The Debbie McGhee Award for Excellence is presented to a current UAA staff member who has substantially advanced our mission to be a “catalyst and advocate for excellence and innovation” and who fully embodies our values: collaboration, compassion, curiosity, equity, integrity and transformative learning. This award represents the highest accolade we bestow upon one another as we celebrate those who lead the way for all of us to continuously strive to do our best work and be our best selves.

Between 1999 and 2019, 38 individuals received the recognition under its former name, the Award for Excellence. It was renamed to honor the memory of Debbie McGhee, a beloved colleague who passed away between the time she was nominated for the award and the event at which it was presented to her in June of 2019. Read more about Debbie here.

Debbie McGhee 2019 Office of Educational Assessment
Lisa Bruce 2018 Student-Athlete Academic Services
Josh Gibbs 2018 Information Technology
Aley Mills Willis 2017 Honors Program
Kathryn Pursch Cornforth 2017 Carlson Leadership & Public Service Center
Josh Lin 2016 Center for Experiential Learning & Diversity
Deborah Smith 2015 Office of Educational Assessment
Mona Pitre-Collins 2015 Office of Merit Scholarships, Fellowship & Awards
Rachel Vaughn 2014 Carlson Leadership & Public Service Center
Maren Halvorsen 2014 Robinson Center for Young Scholars
Sharon Minton 2013 Office of Educational Assessment
Tracy Nyerges 2013 Undergraduate Research Program
Kirsten Atik 2012 Dean’s Office
Michaelann Jundt 2011 Carlson Leadership & Public Service Center
Nana Lowell 2011 Office of Educational Assessment
Jodene Davis 2010 Mary Gates Endowment for Students
Kay Balston 2010 Undergraduate Advising
Jennifer Harris 2009 Undergraduate Research Program
Brook Kelly 2009 Honors Program
Joanna Loss 2008 Office of Educational Assessment
Ray Carlsen 2008 Classroom Support Services
Janice DeCosmo 2007 Center for Experiential Learning & Diversity
Julie Villegas 2007 Honors Program
Beret Kischner 2006 Undergraduate Advising
Ellen Mosolf 2006 Robinson Center for Young Scholars
Miriam Goldstein 2006 Office of Educational Assessment
Christine Stickler 2005 Pipeline Project
Jason Johnson 2004 First Year Programs
Janet Kime 2004 Undergraduate Advising
Cathy Beyer 2003 Office of Educational Assessment
Donald Zongker 2003 Classroom Support Services
Ken Etzkorn 2002 Dean’s Office
Dick Newcomb 2001 Undergraduate Advising
Jerry Gillmore 2001 Office of Educational Assessment
Ran Hennes 2001 Honors Program
Dick Simkins 2000 Undergraduate Advising Center
Pat Wrobel 1999 Dean’s Office
Patrick Roberts 1999 Classroom Support Services

Leadership Awards

The Leadership Awards were inaugurated in 2020. They are presented to UAA staff who have exemplified UAA values within the past year. Eligible employees include part-time, temporary, student staff and interns as well as teams. Any nominations that demonstrate how a staff member or team has embodied and modeled a specific UAA value in their work will be recognized.

To be awarded

Distinguished Partner Award

The Distinguished Partner Award recognizes a colleague, program or department whose collaborations with Undergraduate Academic Affairs have made significant advances in the University of Washington’s undergraduate academic experience. These collaborations enhance, enrich and deepen the undergraduate experience. The reciprocity of these relationships benefits undergraduates and the broader campus community.

Mary Gates Hall Custodial Team: Desidero De Castro, Maria Devaney, Joe Lo, Zenaida Pagdilao, Emebet Sefara, Cassk Thomas, Robert Thompson, Seare Zerom 2019
Leilani Lewis and Jeanette James 2018
Office of Regional & Community Relations 2018
University of Washington Police Department 2017
wǝɫǝbʔaltxʷ–Intellectual House 2016
Student-Athlete Academic Services 2015
Division of Student Life 2014
Office of Minority Affairs & Diversity 2013
The Graduate School 2012

Retired awards

Outstanding Achievement Award 1999-2019

Outstanding Student Employee Award 1999-2019