Population Health

June 27, 2019

Awardees announced for 2018-19 undergraduate research travel funds

Image of student presenting her research posterThe Population Health Initiative today announced six winners of the Undergraduate Research Travel Awards for the 2018-19 academic year. These awards were again granted through a partnership with the Undergraduate Research Program as part of its annual conference travel award program.

The award application process was open to undergraduate students on all three UW campuses who had a population health-related paper, poster or scholarly creative work accepted for presentation at a professional conference.

The following table details the six awardees, their majors and the conferences attended.

Name Major Conference
Sarah Collins Early Care and Education Children & Nature Network International Conference 2019
Tiarra Dearbone Interdisciplinary Arts & Sciences (Psychology), UW Tacoma Washington State Psychological Association’s 2018 Fall Convention
Helen Kesting Environmental Science & Resource Management Northwest Scientific Association Annual Meeting
Alyssa Schul Bioengineering American Urological Association
Neil Shekar Anthropology, Biology International Society for Magnetic Resonance in Medicine
Ben Therrien Environmental Engineering Association of Environmental Engineering and Science Professors Research and Education Conference

Please visit our funding page to learn more about these awards.