UW News

July 28, 2014

More than half of new state academy of sciences members are UW faculty

The Washington State Academy of Sciences has added 18 new members, 10 from the University of Washington, for their “outstanding record of scientific achievement and willingness to work on behalf of the academy in bringing the best available science to bear on issues within the state.”

Logo saying Washington State Academy of SciencesThree UW faculty members were elected by virtue of having recently become fellows in one of the U.S. national academies. Janis Abkowitz, professor and head of the hematology division, and Bruce Psaty, professor of medicine, epidemiology and health services, were elected to the Institute of Medicine.Eric D’Asaro, senior principal oceanographer with the Applied Physics Laboratory and professor of oceanography, was elected to the National Academy of Sciences.

Other new members elected by existing state academy members are:

  • Ann Bostrom, professor of public affairs
  • George Demiris, professor of biobehavioral nursing and health systems
  • Mark Ellis, professor of geography
  • Adrienne Fairhall, associate professor of physiology and biophysics
  • Alvin Kwiram, emeritus professor of chemistry
  • Andre Punt, director and professor of aquatic and fishery sciences
  • Frederick Rieke, professor of physiology and biophysics

New members will be inducted at the academy’s annual meeting Sept. 18 at the Seattle Museum of Flight. The newly elected members bring the total number of active members to 221.