Welcome New Huskies

2022 Virtual International Husky send-offs

Join your fellow new huskies online this summer to celebrate and get ready for fall quarter!

Welcome to the University of Washington! Join in the festivities as current UW students, alumni, staff and parents wish new Huskies well before they leave for the UW. The 2022 International Husky Send-offs will be held virtually this summer in regions around the world. These sessions and activities will guide you through the first steps of college, introduce you to campus resources, and connect you with each other. Each Send-off is facilitated by current UW student leaders in coordination with staff from UW CIRCLE.

All 2022 virtual Send-offs will be held on Zoom, a free online video meeting platform. Zoom is widely used at the UW and will be the platform you would use to participate in Advising & Orientation. After you register for a Send-off session below, you will receive a confirmation link. Please note that you will need to download Zoom to your computer or cell phone and create an account before you can join the meeting. To learn more about Zoom and how to download it, click the “Zoom Step-by-Step Instructions” section on this page.

In addition to the send-offs, there might be some in-person activities hosted by UW registered student organizations. These activities will be hosted if each country’s public health guidelines allow.

NOTE: All times are region specific. Make sure to take note when registering for the event. If your country or region is not listed here, consider attending a session below based on your time zone and language. You are also welcome to join other sessions if the time for your region doesn’t work for you.

#1 Mainland China: North

Date/Time:  June 18, Saturday, 10 a.m. (GMT+8, Beijing Time)

Languages available: Mandarin, English

Location: https://tinyurl.com/2022-welcome-chinanorth

#2 Europe & Middle East

Date/Time:  June 18, Saturday, 6 p.m. (GMT+2, Copenhagen time) or 8 p.m. (GMT+4, Dubai time)

Languages available: English

RSVP: https://tinyurl.com/2022-welcome-europe-middleeast

#3 Latin America & Canada

Date/Time:  June 18, Saturday, 1 p.m. (UTC-5, Mexico City Time) or 2 p.m. (GMT-4, Ottawa time)

Languages available: English & Spanish

RSVP: https://tinyurl.com/2022-latinamerica-canada

#4 East Asia: South Korea, Japan, Hong Kong, Mongolia, Macau

Date/Time:  June 25, Saturday 10 a.m. (GMT+9, Seoul & Tokyo Time) or 9 a.m. (GMT+8, HK & Ulaanbaatar Time)

Languages available: English

RSVP: https://tinyurl.com/2022-welcome-eastasia

#5 Mainland China: South

Date/Time:  June 25, Saturday 10 a.m. (GMT+8, Beijing Time)

Language available: Mandarin, English

RSVP:  https://tinyurl.com/2022-welcome-chinasouth

#6 Southeast Asia: Indonesia, Thailand, Singapore, Myanmar, Philippines, Vietnam, Malaysia, Cambodia

Date/Time:  June 25, Saturday, 9 a.m. (GMT+7)  or 10 a.m. (GMT+8)

Languages available: English

RSVP: https://tinyurl.com/2022-welcome-southeast-asia

#7 Taiwan

Date/Time:  June 25, Saturday, 1 p.m. (GMT+8, Taipei Time)

Languages available: Mandarin & English

RSVP: https://tinyurl.com/2022-welcome-taiwan

#8 South Asia: India, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Pakistan, Nepal, and Sri Lanka

Date/Time:  June 25, Saturday, 8 p.m. (GMT+5:30, New Deli Time)

Languages available: English

RSVP: https://tinyurl.com/2022-welcome-southasia