Population Health


Over the course of the UW’s 25-year vision for the Population Health Initiative, the president and provost recognize the need to stay nimble with respect to the leadership of, and the individuals involved with, this effort.

As a first step, UW President Ana Mari Cauce created and is chairing the initiative’s executive council, which includes senior leaders, faculty, students and staff representing important contributing colleges, schools, programs and stakeholder units.

Population Health executive council

The Population Health Initiative is governed by a 30-member executive council responsible for developing, implementing and measuring progress toward the initiative’s goals. Learn more about the council’s structure in its governance plan.

Current members

The current executive council represents all three UW campuses as well as the undergraduate and graduate student populations.

  • Ana Mari Cauce, president; chair
  • Jerry Baldasty, provost and executive vice president
  • Ali Mokdad, professor of Global Health, Epidemiology and Health Services (IHME); vice chair
  • Thaisa Way, professor of landscape architecture; Faculty Senate liaison
  • David Anderson, executive director, Health Sciences administration
  • Kendra Canton, undergraduate student representative
  • Alison Cullen, professor, Evans School of Public Policy and Governance, and adjunct professor, School of Public Health and College of the Environment
  • Sara Curran, professor, Henry M. Jackson School of International Studies, and director, Center for Studies in Demography and Ecology
  • David Eaton, professor of environmental and occupational health sciences, School of Public Health
  • James Fogarty, professor, Computer Science and Engineering
  • Carmen Gonzalez, assistant professor of communication, College of Arts & Sciences
  • Eric King, graduate/professional student representative
  • Vicky Lawson, professor of geography; director of University Honors
  • Phil Levin, professor of practice, environmental and forest sciences, College of the Environment
  • Julian Marshall, John R. Kiley endowed professor of civil & environmental engineering, College of Engineering
  • India Ornelas, assistant professor of health services, School of Public Health
  • David Reyes, assistant professor of nursing & healthcare leadership, UW Tacoma
  • Sallie Sanford, associate professor of law and adjunct associate professor of health services
  • Jane Simoni, professor of psychology and adjunct professor of global health
  • Clarence Spigner, professor of health services, School of Public Health
  • Bruder Stapleton, professor of pediatrics and associate dean, School of Medicine
  • Andy Stergachis, professor of pharmacy and global health, and associate dean for research, graduate programs and new initiatives, School of Pharmacy
  • Abigail Swann, assistant professor of atmospheric sciences and biology, College of the Environment and College of Arts & Sciences
  • Wadiya Udell, associate professor, Interdisciplinary Arts and Sciences, UW Bothell
  • Jürgen Unützer, professor and chair, Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
  • Judith Wasserheit, professor and William H. Foege Endowed Chair, Department of Global Health
  • Mary Gresch, chief marketing & communications officer, University Marketing & Communications (ex officio)
  • Lee Heck, associate vice president of individual giving programs, University Advancement (ex officio)
  • Jeffrey Riedinger, vice provost, Office of Global Affairs (ex officio)
  • Derek Fulwiler, director of strategy and communications, Executive Office; project director

The Council thanks its emeritus members for their service to the initiative.