UW Today

Welcome to the Office of News & Information

Hours: 8 a.m.-5 p.m. M-F
Email | 206-543-2580
Fax: 206-685-0658

Office of News and Information
Box 351207
Seattle, WA 98195

The Office of News and Information is the port of entry for journalists who need information about the University of Washington. Our media officers will help you find faculty experts or connect you with newsmakers at the UW.

Note: For news concerning the schools, colleges and units of the health sciences, call 206-543-3620.

Our office is located in the basement of Gerberding Hall, Room B-54. Sometimes called the Administration Building, Gerberding Hall is on Red Square in the heart of campus. (See Map)

 

Victor Balta Victor Balta, Director
balta@uw.edu | 206-543-2580

Contact for: Central-administration issues.


 

michelle_mugMichelle Ma, Assistant Director
mcma@uw.edu | 206-543-2580

Contact for: Fisheries, watershed and streamside studies, marine policy, Friday Harbor Labs, forestry, wildlife, and urban horticulture.


 

Vince StricherzVince Stricherz
vinces@uw.edu | 206-543-2580

Contact for: Geological sciences, seismology, sun and solar system, Antarctic glaciers, chemistry, physics.

 


Peter KelleyPeter Kelley
kellep@uw.edu | 206-543-2580

Contact for: Economics, world affairs, political science, public affairs, law, architecture and urban planning, growth issues, library and information science, communications, humanities, history, astronomy and the arts.

 


Hannah HickeyHannah Hickey
hickeyh@uw.edu| 206-543-2580

Contact for: Atmospheric sciences, oceanography, polar sciences, climate change, state climatologist, weather and mathematics.

 


Deborah-BachDeborah Bach
bach2@uw.edu | 206-543-2580

Contact for: Psychology, social work, sociology, anthropology, speech and hearing sciences, early entrance/gifted program, geography, women’s studies, American ethnic studies, American Indian studies, and education.


uwtoday@uw.edu | 206-543-2580

Contact for: Aeronautics & astronautics, bioengineering, chemical engineering, civil & environmental engineering, computer science & engineering, electrical engineering, human centered design & engineering, industrial & systems engineering, materials science & engineering, mechanical engineering.

 


Mary LevinMary Levin, Photographer
mlevin@uw.edu | 206-543-2518

Mary Levin manages University Photography and is available for UW assignments on or off campus. She also can arrange studio shots. Please contact her to discuss your photography needs and also to examine our large collection of archive images.

 


Linda DodsonLinda Dodson, Office Manager
ldodson@uw.edu | 206-543-2580

Linda Dodson, as the office manager, is responsible for managing the News and Information accounts, including all billings and purchases.

 


Chris Wallish, Office Assistant
cwallish@uw.edu | 206-543-2580