UW News

May 22, 2008

UW docs inducted into American College of Physicians

Dr. David C. Dale, professor of medicine in the Division of General Internal Medicine and former UW dean of medicine, has been inducted as a master of the American College of Physicians. The induction took place on May 15 during Internal Medicine 2008, the annual ACP scientific meeting in Washington, DC.

Dale is outgoing president of the organization. The ACP is the largest medical specialty organization and the second-largest physician group in the U.S., with 125,000 members in North and South America and Japan.

Mastership is bestowed on select fellows in recognition of exceedingly stellar career accomplishments and service to the College.

Also on May 15, six members of the Department of Medicine were inducted as fellows of the American College of Physicians: Dr. Henry G. Kaplan, clinical associate professor; Dr. Michael L. Linenberger, associate professor, Division of Hematology; Dr. David R. Munoz, clinical assistant professor, Division of Gerontology and Geriatric Medicine; Dr. John E. Olerud, professor and division head, Division of Dermatology; Dr. Genevieve L. Pagalilauan, assistant professor, Division of General Internal Medicine; and Dr. Mark R.Tonelli, associate professor, Division of Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine.

Dr. Alvin J. Thompson, emeritus clinical professor of medicine and past president of the Washington State Medical Association, received the ACP’s Ralph O. Claypoole Sr. Memorial Award for Devotion of a Career in Internal Medicine to the Care of Patients, at the ACP annual meeting.

Thompson’s career includes over 50 years of clinical practice, teaching, and community leadership. A master of the ACP and member of the Institute of Medicine, he is co-chair of the King County Health Advisory Task Force and was instrumental in creation of the Puget Sound Health Alliance. He was president of the Washington Association of Black Professionals in Health Care for over 20 years and was the founding president of the Washington State Association for Biomedical Research. For more than 20 years he has represented the American Medical Association on the National Commission on Correctional Health Care. He was the first recipient of the Scribner Award, presented in 2004 for community service and professional advocacy.

For more information about the ACP, visit http://www.acponlineorg.