UW News

March 13, 2008

Universitywide award recipients announced

The University will honor 25 individuals this year as part of the annual Universitywide awards program. The awards honor outstanding performance in teaching, mentoring, public service and staff support.

Seven faculty will receive the Distinguished Teaching Award, given to faculty who show “a mastery of their subject matter, intellectual rigor and a passion for teaching.” This year’s winners are Rebecca Aanerud, women studies; Benjamin Kerr, biology; Jaime Olavarria, psychology; Julia Parrish, aquatic and fishery sciences; Jamie Walker, art; Gowri Shankar, business administration (Bothell); and Richard Knuth, education (Tacoma).

Three graduate teaching assistants — Rachel Goldberg, English; and, sharing one award, Christopher Himes and Fernanda Oyarzun, biology — will receive the Excellence in Teaching Award for demonstrating outstanding skills in the classroom.

Thomas P. Quinn, aquatic and fishery sciences, will receive the Marsha L. Landolt Distinguished Graduate Mentor Award, recognizing faculty members who have made outstanding contributions to the education and guidance of graduate students.

Five staff members will receive Distinguished Staff Awards. The winners are Philip Mote, joint institute for the study of atmosphere and oceans; Robin Bennett, medical genetics clinic; Hendrik Simons, center for aeronautical astrophysics and nuclear physics; Sue Garcia, custodial services; and Mona Pitre-Collins, center for experiential learning. These awards are given to staff who “contribute to the mission of their unit or the University, respond creatively to challenges, maintain the highest standards in their work, establish productive working relationships and promote a respectful and supportive workplace.”

Nancy Amidei, social work, is the winner of the Outstanding Public Service Award, which is presented to a faculty or staff member to honor extensive local and/or national and international service. Also being honored for service is Denise Wilson, electrical engineering, who will receive the S. Sterling Munro Public Service Teaching Award. The award is given to a faculty member demonstrating exemplary leadership in community-based instruction, including service learning, public service internships and community partnership projects.

The James D. Clowes Award for the Advancement of Learning Communities will be given this year to Lance Bennett, political science and communication. The award recognizes a faculty or staff member who transforms undergraduate learning by creating or sustaining learning communities among students.

Kathleen Woodward, Simpson center for the humanities; and Judy Mahoney, engineering, are the winners of the David B. Thorud Leadership Award. The award honors those who lead, serve, inspire and collaborate with broad-ranging impact that is beyond their regular responsibilities. Woodward is the faculty winner and Mahoney the staff winner.

John Schaufelberger, construction management, is the winner of the Distinguished Contributions to Lifelong Learning Award, which is given to faculty who have taught for at least two years in non-degree programs sponsored by the UW and aimed at adults for professional development, personal interest or career redirection.

Beverly Cleary, a children’s book author best known for the Ramona series, is the winner of this year’s Alumna Summa Laude Dignata, an award given not for recent work but for a lifetime record of achievement. It is the highest honor that the UW can bestow on a graduate.

Robb Weller, a volunteer for the UW Alumni Association, is being honored with the Alumni Association Distinguished Service Award. The award is given to individuals who make outstanding efforts on behalf of the association.

The award winners will be honored at a special Universitywide Recognition Ceremony, scheduled for 3:30–4:30 p.m. Thursday, June 12, in Meany Hall, with a reception to follow in the foyer. The ceremony is free and open to the public. University Week will publish a special awards supplement profiling all the winners on June 5.

The winner of a new award this year — the Distinguished Librarian Award — will be announced in early May.