UW Today

November 1, 2011

Washington State Pharmacy Association honors student, faculty and alumni for their contributions

Pharmacy student Karen Craddick, faculty members Micki Kedzierski and Nanci Murphy, along with several School of Pharmacy alumni, received awards for their community, advocacy and educational efforts.

October 25, 2011

Pharmacy students amp up their business expertise

Students are benefiting from the management insights of faculty and community pharmacist. Among the visiting lecturers was George D. Bartell, from the oldest family-owned drug store chain in the nation.

May 25, 2011

School of Pharmacy’s largest department gets new chair

Bridge Endowed Professor of Pharmacy Peggy Odegard has been named the next chair of the Department of Pharmacy at the UW School of Pharmacy, effective July 1. Odegard, who is also a practicing pharmacist, is the first woman to hold this role.

April 20, 2011

Namibia gets first-ever pharmacy degree program with help from UW

Namibia’s 2 million people have fewer than 200 pharmacists to dispense essential medications. Namibia has recently opened its first pharmacy degree program at the University of Namibia in Windhoek.

April 13, 2011

Pharmacy’s Katterman Lecture gears up for an ‘Electronic Revolution’

Sue Merk, a pharmacist from OneHealthPort, will talk about the use of advanced communications and information technologies in hospitals, communities and clinics.

April 6, 2011

School of Pharmacy dean emeritus honored for research excellence

The American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy has honored Sid Nelson for his many contributions to pharmaceutic sciences, including work leading to safer medications.

UW scientist named School of Pharmacy’s Distinguished Alumna

Dr. Gail Anderson attended the UW as an undergraduate and graduate student, and then pursued her career here. This month she will receive the School of Pharmacy’s Distinguished Alumna Award for her work on drug treatments for brain injuries and epilepsy.

February 2, 2011

Pharmacy students elected to national leadership roles

Sara McElroy and Andrew Heinz will each become presidents of national pharmacy student organizations. Both have innovative ideas for their profession and its role in improving health care.

January 26, 2011

Lifetime achievement award goes to epilepsy drug researcher Rene Levy

Professor and Chair Emeritus of Pharmaceutics Rene Levy has received the 2011 Arthur A. Ward, Jr. Achievement in Epilepsy Award from the Northwest Epilepsy Foundation. He is an expert on medications to control seizures and on drug interactions.

December 8, 2010

Pharmacy students leave a lasting impression on public officials

UW pharmacy students inform public leaders about the expanding role of pharmacists in disease prevention and health promotion.

« Previous Page Next Page »