UW News

December 1, 2010

Jazz Ensemble, Modern Band perform Dec. 8 at Meany

The Studio Jazz Ensemble performs Dec. 8.

The Studio Jazz Ensemble performs Dec. 8.

The Studio Jazz Ensemble directed by Cuong Vu and Ivan Arteaga, and the Modern Band, directed by Cuong Vu, perform big band arrangements, repertory selections, and new originals in a concert at 7:30 p.m. Wednesday, Dec. 8 in Meany Theater.

The Studio Jazz Ensemble will play “Hang Gliding,” by Maria Schneider, featuring  Brennan Carter on trumpet and Eric Vanderbilt-Mathews on tenor sax; “Ebony Concerto,” by Igor Stravinsky, featuring Miriam Champer on alto sax; and “Searchlight,” by Matt Wilson (arr. Andrew D’Angelo, featuring  Levi Gillis on alto sax and Nick Rogstad on trombone.

Other members of the Studio Jazz Ensemble are Wolf Rahfeldt, tenor sax; Leif Gustafson, baritone sax; Andrew Miller, Chris Lewis, John Markle and Kellan Smith, trumpet; Colin Pulkrabek, Reece Beigh and Masa Ohtake, trombone; Sam Hylton, piano; Jarred Katz, drums; and Abbey Blackwell, bass

The Modern Band will play “Dream Catcher,” by Cameron Sharif; “Pith,” by Chris Speed; “Four Thorns,” by Chris Speed; “Silent Science,” by Colin Pulkrabek and “Chitter Chatter,” by Cuong Vu. Band members include Natalie Hall, cello; Wolf Rahfeldt, tenor saxophone; Colin Pulkrabek, trombone; Nick Rogstad, trombone; Cameron Sharif, keyboard/piano; Gus Carns, piano/keyboard; Evan Woodle, drums; and Mark Hunter, bass.

Tickets for the concert are $10. They are available at the Arts Ticket Office, 206-543-4880, or online.