UW News

May 20, 2004

Health Sciences News Briefs

Dr. David Dale, professor of medicine and former dean of the School of Medicine, will present the School of Pharmacy’s annual Katterman Lecture on Saturday, May 22, at the Health Sciences Center. Dale will talk about the discovery and development of colony stimulating factors, using that example to illustrate the path from laboratory to Food and Drug Administration approval. The program is open to all with registration fees of $25 for Pharmacy Alumni Association members, $50 for non-members and $20 for guests. To register, call Jean Reeves at 206-685-8091.

The annual Alzheimer’s Disease Public Forum will begin at 7 p.m., Wednesday, June 2, at the King County Aquatic Center Conference room in Federal Way. Dr. Jim Leverenz of the UW will talk about medical advances; Dr. Alan Stephens of the University of Birmingham will speak on caregivers. The program is free. For more information, call 206-221-6563 or see http://www.uwadrc.org

Dr. Mary-Claire King, professor of medicine (medical genetics) and the American Cancer Society professor of genome sciences, has received the UCSF Medal from the University of California, San Francisco, in honor of her outstanding contributions to genetics and her humanitarian accomplishments. The medal is the most prestigious award granted by UCSF. King moved from UC Berkeley to the UW in 1995. Dr. Lawrence K. Altman, medical writer for the New York Times, also received a UCSF Medal this year. Altman was a resident in internal medicine and a fellow in medical genetics at the UW in the 1960s. All four medal recipients were honored at the UCSF Founders Day Banquet on April 27.

Dr. Eric B. Larson, professor of medicine and director of the Center for Health Studies at Group Health Cooperative, has taken office as chair of the American College of Physicians. In addition, he has received the Robert J. Gllaser Award from the Society of General Internal Medicine, an international group of academic general internists. The highest award given by the group, the Glaser Award recognized Larson’s research on aging and health care quality, labeled him an outstanding role model for students and noted that he is an astute and compassionate clinician. He also recently chaired a task force to redefine general internal medicine as a specialty. Larson was medical director of UW Medical Center from 1989 to 2002.

Dr. Michael Mitchell, professor of urology and chief of pediatric urology at Children’s Hospital and Medical Center, has received the 2004 Hugh Hampton Young Award from the American Urological Association for outstanding contributions to the study of genitourinary tract disease. Mitchell is known as one of the world’s best technical and innovative pediatric urological surgeons, noted Dr. Paul Lange, chair of the UW Department of Urology, and also admired as a compassionate physician. Mitchell is especially known for developing new techniques and procedures for complex urologic malformations in children. He has been at the UW and Children’s since 1989.

Dr. Julia Heiman, professor of psychiatry and behavioral sciences and director of the Reproductive and Sexual Medicine Clinic, has been named director of the Kinsey Institute for Research in Sex, Gender and Reproduction at Indiana University, Bloomington. She will begin there on June 1 and plans to set up collaborative projects with UW researchers in the future. She will be a professor of psychology at IU and have a joint appointment in the Department of Psychiatry at the IU School of Medicine in Indianapolis.