UW News

April 3, 2003

Annual University-wide awards announced

More than 20 individuals, teams and units are being honored this year as part of the annual University-wide awards program. The awards honor outstanding performance in teaching, mentoring, public service and staff support.

Seven faculty will receive the Distinguished Teaching Award, given to faculty who show “a mastery of their subject matter, intellectual rigor and a passion for teaching.” This year’s winners include Enrique (Rick) Bonus, American ethnic studies; Lisa Coutu, communications; Susan Kemp, social work; James Morrow, mathematics; Richard Johnson, history; Ruth Rea, nursing (Tacoma); and Suzanne Sikma, nursing (Bothell).

Two graduate teaching assistants — Anita Lenges, education; and Rebecca Nugent, statistics — will receive the Excellence in Teaching Award for demonstrating outstanding skills in the classroom.

Charles Keyes, anthropology, will receive the Distinguished Graduate Mentor Award, recognizing faculty members who have made outstanding contributions to the education and guidance of graduate students.

Four staff members — plus one team of two — will receive Distinguished Staff Awards. The winners include James Gladden, technical services, chemistry; Jennifer Mas, program operations, medicine; Laurel Sercombe, ethnomusicology, music; David Snyder, technical services, Bothell; and the team of Jo Kane and Paula Walker, who oversaw the renovation of Suzzallo Library. These awards are given to staff who “contribute to the mission of their unit or the University, respond creatively to challenges, maintain the highest standards in their work, establish productive working relationships and promote a respectful and supportive workplace.”

Dena Brownstein, pediatrics, is the winner of the Outstanding Public Service Award, which is presented to a faculty or staff member to honor extensive local and/or national and international service. Also being honored for service is Anthony Ishisaka, social work, who will receive the S. Sterling Munro Public Service Teaching Award. The award is given to a faculty member demonstrating exemplary leadership in community-based instruction, including service learning, public service internships and community partnership projects.

Composer William Bolcom is the winner of this year’s Alumnus Summa Laude Dignatus, an award given not for recent work but for a lifetime record of achievement. It is the highest honor that the UW can bestow on a graduate. Bolcom, a 1958 cum laude graduate of the School of Music, is a distinguished composer and pianist who won the Pulitzer Prize for music in 1988.

Kirk Beach, surgery, is the winner of the Distinguished Contributions to Lifelong Learning Award, which is given to faculty who have taught for at least two years in non-degree programs sponsored by the UW and aimed at adults for professional development, personal interest or career redirection.

Vivian Lee, who received degrees from the University in 1958 and 1959, is being honored with the Alumni Association Distinguished Service Award. The award is given to individuals who make outstanding efforts on behalf of the Alumni Association.

Brotman Awards for Instructional Excellence will be given this year to the School of Drama and the Transition School and Early Entrance Program within the Robinson Center for Young Scholars. The award recognizes collaboration within and among departments, programs and groups that improves the quality of undergraduate education. Brotman Diversity Awards, recognizing outstanding programs that advance diversity in the UW community, will be announced at a later time.

The award winners will be honored at a special University-Wide Recognition Ceremony, scheduled for 3 p.m. Thursday, June 12 in Meany Hall. University Week will publish a special awards supplement profiling all the winners on May 29.