UW Department of Communication e-news
Fall 2008

From the Chairs
Chair Jerry Baldasty, on temporary leave from the department, recaps highlights from a successful 2007-08, while interim chair David Domke shares exciting news about the results of last fall's department review. More ...

Innovative Teaching

Mercer Island residents caucasing
Mercer Island caucus

The Future Belongs to the Fearless: Student Journalists & the 2008 Presidential Campaign
Last January, 16 UW journalism students and a professor set out to cover this year's presidential campaign armed with a new-media mindset and traditional reporting practices. They were hoping for a grand learning experience. What they got was so much more. Read on ...

Hanson filming
Hosein at work

MCDM and Rising from Ruins
Hanson Hosein applies the same philosophies of storytelling and social media to his role as MCDM director as he does to his films. See how the two come together in his latest work, Independent America: Rising from Ruins, a look at the experiences of local businesspeople who quickly returned home after Hurricane Katrina to help rebuild their community —and how, three years later, their struggle continues. Read more ...

Faculty News

Professor Gerry Phillipsen is giving the National Communication Association's prestigious Carroll C. Arnold Distinguished Lecture at the November, 2008 convention.

Professor W. Lance Bennett is the 2008 recipient of the James D. Clowes Award for the Advancement of Learning Communities. The honor recognizes Bennett's wide-ranging and innovative projects through the Center for Communication and Civic Engagement.

Associate Professor Patricia Moy is the 2008 recipient of the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication's Krieghbaum Under-40 Award. The award honors AEJMC members under 40 who have shown outstanding achievement and effort in all three AEJMC areas: teaching, research and public service.

Senior Lecturer Lisa Coutu is one of six UW instructors to receive a 2008 Teaching Excellence Award from UW Educational Outreach. Coutu was recognized for her work in distance learning.

Student News

Communication students Judy Vue and Nina Huang were each awarded a $1,500 scholarship from the Seattle Professional Chapter of the Association for Women in Communications. The awards were presented at a dinner at the Seattle Yacht Club.

Five UW journalism students attended the 2008 UNITY convention in Chicago. UNITY is a coalition of the Asian American Journalists Association, the National Association of Black Journalists, the National Association of Hispanic Journalists and the Native American Journalists Association. Read reflections on the conference from our attendees and one of our recent graduates.

UW students Meghan Peters and Camden Swita were SPJ national finalists in the Mark of Excellence Breaking News Reporting category for their story: "UW staff member slain in Gould Hall."

Focus on Alumni

Alumni Hall of Fame: Class of 2008
Six alumni were inducted into the Communication Alumni Hall of Fame this year. More ...

Columnsí 100 Notable Alumni Includes 12 from Communication
In celebration of its 100th anniversary, the UW alumni publication Columns magazine recognized 100 notable alumni, including several Communication graduates. The selection committee chose famous, fascinating or influential living graduates. Communication graduates included:

    Laura Chang: B.A., '84
    Timothy Egan: B.A., '81
    Lou Gellerman: B.A., '59
    Christine Gregoire: B.A., '71
    Ed Guthman: B.A., '44
    David Horsey: B.A., '75
    Bryan Monroe: B.A., '87
    Eric Nalder: B.A., '68
    Assunta Ng: M.A., '79
    Norm Rice: B.A., '72
    Dolores Sibonga: B.A., '52
    Robb Weller: B.A., '72

Read "Our Wondrous One Hundred" in the June 2008 issue of Columns.

Class Notes

Updates from Alumni
See who's doing what: Read notes from the class of '58 through '08. More ...

In Memoriam
Blanche Gordon Narodick: B.A., 1930
Narodick graduated magna cum laude and Phi Beta Kappa from the UW School of Journalism. She was a longstanding member of the Association for Women In Communications and was honored by the Red Cross with the Harriman Award for Distinguished Volunteer Service, its highest award for volunteers.

Ed Guthman: B.A., 1944
Guthman received a Pulitzer Prize in 1950 for his series on the clearing of Communist charges of UW professor Melvin Rader. He also served as press secretary to U.S. Attorney General Robert Kennedy. Guthman was inducted into the UW Communication Alumni Hall of Fame in 2005.


Communication Alumni Club
The Communication Alumni Club is a vibrant and engaged group of alumni dedicated to mentoring students, providing lifelong learning experiences for alumni and friends, creating opportunities for alumni to network with one another, and contributing to community service, outreach and collaboration. Find out more ...

Campus Visitors
The Department of Communication faculty, staff and students thank all the alumni and friends who took time out of their busy schedules to visit our classes, talk to our students, and attend our events. We appreciate your dedication to our students and to the Department. Read more ...

Events Calendar

Communication Homecoming
Saturday, Oct. 18, 2 p.m.; Waterfront Activities Center

Save the Date: Washington Weekend
April 23-25, 2009; UW Seattle, Bothell and Tacoma
Updated event Web site to launch early 2009.


Table of contents

More Upcoming Events

Featured Links