University of Washington Policy Directory

Print This Page
*Formerly part of the University Handbook
Board of Regents Governance


Article V

Officers of the University

1.  President of the University

The President of the University shall be elected by the Board upon receiving the affirmative votes of not less than two-thirds of the members of the Board (excluding the student regent), and shall serve at the pleasure of the Board. The President of the University shall be the chief executive officer of the University and shall be responsible directly to the Board for the management and conduct of all the affairs of the University except those which by law, these Bylaws, the Standing Orders, the Regent Policies, or other orders of the Board are the specific responsibility of other persons or bodies. The President of the University is authorized to attend all regular and special meetings of the Board and its committees unless requested otherwise in specific instances by the Board or committee, and is authorized to bring matters before the Board or any of its committees for discussion and action.

2.  Other Officers

The President of the University is authorized and encouraged to recommend for appointment by the Board (excluding the student regent) such number of vice presidents, deans, and other officers as may be necessary for assistance in carrying out efficiently the manifold responsibilities of the chief executive officer of the University. All such officers of the University shall be under the general supervision of and shall exercise such powers and duties as may be prescribed by the President of the University.

BR, September 17, 1971; January 21, 1972; December 17, 1976; July 17, 1998; January 21, 2000; November 14, 2013 [Effective January 1, 2014].

For additional delegations of authority, see:

  • Board of Regents Governance, Standing Orders, Chapter 1, "Delegation of Authority"
  • Board of Regents Governance, Standing Orders, Chapter 8, "Authority for Washington Administrative Code Rule Making"
  • Executive Order No. 1, "The Office of the President"
  • Executive Order No. 4, "The Provost"
  • Executive Order No. 6, "The Chief Executive Officer (CEO), UW Medicine and Executive Vice President for Medical Affairs and Dean of the School of Medicine, University of Washington"
  • Executive Order No. 7, "The Vice President for Minority Affairs"
  • Executive Order No. 9, "The Vice President for Human Resources"
  • Executive Order No. 11, "The Vice President for External Affairs"
  • Executive Order No. 12, "The Deans"
  • Executive Order No. 14, "Chancellor, UW Bothell and UW Tacoma"
  • Executive Order No. 18, "The University Ombud"
  • Executive Order No. 62, "The Vice President for University Advancement"
  • Executive Order No. 63, "The Vice President for UW Information Technology and Chief Information Officer"
  • Administrative Orders: Delegations of Authority