Board of Regents

Rogelio Riojas

Rogelio Riojas

Rogelio Riojas has served as President and CEO of Sea Mar Community Health Centers since 1978. Sea Mar is a health and human services non-profit organization committed to providing quality, comprehensive health, human, housing, educational and cultural services to diverse communities, specializing in service to Latinos. Under his leadership, the organization has grown from a small community clinic in the South Park neighborhood of Seattle, to a large multi-faceted health and human services organization.

Sea Mar has bolstered partnerships with several educational institutions to create opportunities for a new generation of health professionals, including establishing the first community family practice residency program in partnership with Swedish Cherry Hill (formerly Providence Family Medicine) and the University of Washington, establishing its own accredited family medicine residency program in Marysville, Washington, and the Advanced Registered Nurse Practitioner (ARNP) residency program in Seattle, and implementing a certified nursing assistant program that has resulted in an established registered nurse training program in partnership with South Seattle Community College.

Mr. Riojas has also built Sea Mar to be a statewide advocate for those most in need. Sea Mar, in collaboration with its community partners, has been a strong voice and has led social justice advocacy in Washington State. This includes advocating for medical coverage of undocumented children through the state Medicaid program, safe and clean affordable housing for migrant farmworkers, the Basic Health Plan for low income individuals and families, and immigration rights, among many other issues.

Mr. Riojas is a graduate of the University of Washington with bachelor’s degrees in economics and political science and a master’s degree in health administration. He and his wife Leticia have four children and five grandchildren and live in Seattle.

  • Appointed by Governor Jay Inslee from October 1, 2013 to September 30, 2019
  • Confirmed by Senate on March 6, 2014
  • Reappointed by Governor Jay Inslee from October 21, 2019 to September 30, 2025
  • Awaiting Senate confirmation