Board of Regents

Submitting Information and Action Items for Consideration by the Board of Regents

Members of the Board of Regents meet monthly to be advised of important matters related to the University of Washington and to take formal action on others. The Board of Regents currently functions with three standing committees: Finance and Asset Management, chaired by Regent Blaine Tamaki; Academic and Student Affairs, chaired by Regent David Zeeck; and Governance, chaired by the Board Chair, Regent Rogelio Riojas. Information on Board Committees can be found in the Board bylaws (view the Bylaws, Article IV, Committees of the Board). Some subjects are retained for consideration by the full Board.

1.  Agendas are developed well in advance of a meeting. Please contact the appropriate office at least two months prior to the date of desired consideration to request that an item be included on an agenda. The decision of whether or not to include a proposed item in an agenda will be taken by the Chair of the Board or Committee on the advice of the President, Provost, or other staff, as appropriate. This document summarizes the process by which items come to the Board.

For items to be considered by the Academic and Student Affairs Committee, please contact the Office of the Provost.

For items to be considered by the Finance and Asset Management Committee, the Governance Committee, or the full Board, please contact the Office of the Board of Regents.

2.  Once an item has been included on the Board or a committee agenda, it is the responsibility of the item owner to meet the deadlines for final submission of materials established to the Office of the Board of Regents given below. Items should be fully reviewed within your unit before submission. The Office of the Provost may require an internal submission prior to the dates given below.

Use the item templates and observe the presentation guidelines linked below:

Preparing Information and Action items

Presenting at Meetings of the Board of Regents

Deadlines for final submission of items to the Board Office:

Item Due Dates:
Items are due by noon on the dates noted below.
Meeting Dates:
Friday, January 1, 2021 Thursday, January 14, 2021*
Friday, January 29, 2021 Thursday, February 11, 2021
Friday, February 26, 2021 Thursday, March 11, 2021
Friday, March 26, 2021 Thursday, April 8, 2021
Friday, April 30, 2021 Thursday, May 13, 2021
Friday, May 28, 2021 Thursday, June 10, 2021
Friday, June 25, 2021 Thursday, July 8, 2021
Friday, July 30, 2021 Thursday, August 12, 2021*
Friday, August 27, 2021 Thursday, September 9, 2021
Friday, October 1, 2021 Thursday, October 14, 2021
Friday, October 29, 2021 Wednesday, November 10, 2021**
Friday, November 26, 2021 Thursday, December 9, 2021

*January and August meetings may be cancelled, circumstances permitting.
**The meetings that would have been scheduled for Wednesday, November 10, and Thursday, November 11, 2021, have been scheduled for Tuesday, November 9, and Wednesday, November 10, 2021, in observance of Veterans Day on Thursday, November 11, 2021.