UW News

UW Speakers Bureau

Welcome to the UW Speakers Bureau!

The University of Washington is home to experts on many topics of broad interest to the public and that affect people’s daily lives, from minimum wage to volcanoes. Below are names of UW researchers who have indicated that they are willing to present their work in public talks to community groups.

The names below are listed in alphabetical order. To find the best match for your group, use the “search” and “filter” tools to sort potential speakers by their name, expertise or UW department. If you still can’t find what you’re looking for, please use the contact information at the bottom to get help finding a match.

If you’re looking to host an event outside the Puget Sound area, please contact us so we can help you find a speaker.

Contact:
speakersbureau@uw.edu

 

Photo Name Title Email / Phone Expertise
Scott Allard Scott Allard Professor, public policy and governance

sallard@uw.edu

206-221-4872

Social policy, urban policy

Ernesto Alvarado Ernesto Alvarado Research associate professor, School of Environmental and Forest Sciences

alvarado@uw.edu

206-616-6920

Forest fire ecology, fire management, prescribed fire, smoke emissions, climate change, tropical forestry, landscape, international forestry, modeling

Joel Baker Joel Baker Science director, Center for Urban Waters at UW Tacoma

jebaker@uw.edu

253-254-4423

Transport of organic contaminants in the environment, oil spills and water contamination, particularly in urban environments. Baker teaches courses in water quality modeling, environmental chemistry and quantitative methods

Rory Barnes Rory Barnes Research assistant professor, astronomy

rkb9@uw.edu

206-543-8979

Identifying habitable planets, formation and evolution of habitable planets

George Bergantz George Bergantz Professor, Earth and space sciences

bergantz@uw.edu

206-685-4972

Volcanoes in the Pacific Northwest and elsewhere. Numerical modeling, lab experiments and field studies.

Carl Bergstrom Carl Bergstrom Professor, biology

cbergst@uw.edu

206-685-3487

Behavior, evolution and systematics, mathematical and computational biology

Elin Björling Elin Björling Senior research scientist and lecturer, Human Centered Design & Engineering

bjorling@uw.edu

Technology design to improve mental health in teens

Nick Bond Nick Bond Research Meteorologist, UW-NOAA Joint Institute for the Study of Atmosphere and Ocean

nab3met@uw.edu

206-526-6459

Washington’s state climatologist, can comment on historic trends, recent events and the seasonal outlook

Sally Brown Sally Brown Research associate professor, environmental and forest sciences

slb@uw.edu

206-616-1299

Contaminated soils, risks, waste (compost municipal wastewater) soil amendments, carbon accounting

Karin Bumbaco Karin Bumbaco Assistant State Climatologist

kbumbaco@uw.edu

206-543-3145

Questions or data inquiries on Washington weather trends in the context of historical data. Publishes the monthly newsletter on statewide trends and forecasts.

Steve Calandrillo Steve Calandrillo Professor, law

stevecal@uw.edu

206-685-2403

Controversial law and public policy topics including contracts, daylight saving time, drone technology/regulation, organ donation, minimum wage legislation, instant replay, and baseball’s designated hitter rule

Ryan Calo Ryan Calo Associate professor, law

rcalo@uw.edu

206-543-1580

law, technology, robotics, artificial intelligence, misinformation

Shuyi Chen Shuyi Chen Professor, atmospheric sciences

shuyic@uw.edu

206-685-1736

Tropical meteorology, air-sea interactions, mesoscale dynamics, numerical modeling

Eric Chudler Eric Chudler Research associate professor, Department of Bioengineering

chudler@uw.edu

206-616-6899

Behavioral neuroscience, brain-computer interfaces

Angel Fettig Angel Fettig Associate professor, education

afettig@uw.edu

206-685-1287

Special education, early childhood special education, developmental disabilities

Karen Fredriksen Goldsen Karen Fredriksen Goldsen Professor, social work

fredrikk@uw.edu

206-543-5722

Aging and well-being, health disparities among LGBT older adults

Anne Goodchild Anne Goodchild Associate Professor, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering

annegood@uw.edu

206-543-3747

Freight transportation, E-commerce and online shopping, Urban Freight Home delivery, UAV or drone delivery

Brian Harvey Brian Harvey Assistant professor, School of Environmental and Forest Sciences

bjharvey@uw.edu

206-685-9929

Climate, ecology, resource management, forest disturbances

Reşat Kasaba Reşat Kasaba Professor and director of international studies

kasaba@uw.edu

206-543-4373

State-society relations in the Middle East from a historical perspective, Turkey

Deborah Kelley Deborah Kelley Professor, oceanography

dskelley@uw.edu

206-543-9279

Underwater volcanoes, hydrothermal vents, cabled deep-sea observatories

Patricia Kramer Patricia Kramer Professor, anthropology

pakramer@uw.edu

206-616-2449

Biological anthropology, evolution, human paleontology, nonhuman primates

Jane Lee Jane Lee Assistant professor, social work

janejlee@uw.edu

206-616-8984

Role of migration shaping health and wellbeing of immigrant populations

Taryn Lindhorst Taryn Lindhorst Professor, social work

tarynlin@uw.edu

206-616-2152

Poverty, safety net health care settings and health equity; oncology social work; end-of-life, palliative are and grief issues

Joe Lott Joe Lott Associate professor, education

jlott1@uw.edu

206-685-9204

Equity studies, higher education, policy and educational reform

Don MacKenzie Don MacKenzie Associate Professor, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering

dwhm@uw.edu

206-685-7198

Electric vehicles, shared use transportation services, energy use in transportation sector

Julian Marshall Julian Marshall Professor, Department of Civil & Environmental Engineering

jdmarsh@uw.edu

(206) 685-2591

Understanding how much pollution people breathe, and how to reduce those exposures

Scott Montgomery Scott Montgomery Affiliate faculty, Jackson School of International Studies

scottlm@uw.edu

206-897-1611

Arctic and oil, oil and gas (reserves, technology, prices, politics), fracking, nuclear power, worked 25 years in the energy industry

Steve Muench Steve Muench Professor, Department of Civil & Environmental Engineering

stmuench@uw.edu

206-616-1259

Infrastructure construction (bridges, roads, dams, etc.), Transportation infrastructure sustainability, Sustainability rating systems, Roads and pavements

Devin Naar Devin Naar Professor, international studies

denaar@uw.edu

206-616-6202

Modern Jewish history, Jewish culture from antiquity until today, Sephardic history and culture, the history and memory of the Holocaust

Peter Neff Peter Neff Postdoctoral scholar, Earth and space sciences

neffp@uw.edu

206-543-1190

Ice cores, glaciology, paleoclimate, Antarctica, climate science, geochemistry

Jan Newton Jan Newton Oceanographer, UW Applied Physics Laboratory

newton@apl.washington.edu

206-543-9152

Ocean observing, ocean acidification and phytoplankton in Puget Sound and Pacific Northwest waters

Jeffrey Ochsner Jeffrey Ochsner Professor, architecture

jochsner@uw.edu

206-543-4180

Architectural design, urban design, historic preservation, and architectural history

Saadia Pekkanen Saadia Pekkanen Professor, international studies

smp1@uw.edu

206-543-6148

Outer space security, foreign policy, international relations, national security

Franziska Roesner Franziska Roesner Associate professor, Paul G. Allen School of Computer Science & Engineering

franzi@cs.washington.edu

Computer security and privacy

Heidi Roop Heidi Roop Lead scientist for science communication, Climate Impacts Group

hroop@uw.edu

206-616-1352

Climate change

Ilene Schwartz Ilene Schwartz Professor, education

ilene@uw.edu

206-616-3450

Early childhood special education, applied behavior analysis and interventions for autism

Jeff Shulman Jeff Shulman Professor, business

jshulman@uw.edu

847-927-7467

Marketing, pricing strategies, Seattle growth

Amy Snover Amy Snover Director, UW Climate Impacts Group

aksnover@uw.edu

206-221-0222

Climate change effects in the Pacific Northwest. Co-authored the regional report on effects of climate change. Works with regional agencies on climate adaptation.

Hugh Spitzer Hugh Spitzer Professor, law

spith@uw.edu

206-685-1635

Constitutional law, legal ethics and professional responsibility, legal philosophy and theory, legislative process, local government and municipal law

Bill Steele Bill Steele Director of Outreach & Information Services, Pacific Northwest Seismic Network

wsteele@uw.edu

206-685-5880

Regional earthquake, volcano and tsunami hazards, risk communication, tours of the UW seismology lab

Harold Tobin Harold Tobin Professor, Earth and space sciences

htobin@uw.edu

206-543-6790

Subduction zones, Cascadia Subduction Zone, earthquakes, “ShakeAlert” earthquake early warning system

Kathy Troost Kathy Troost Senior lecturer, Earth & Space Sciences

ktroost@uw.edu

206-221-1770

Landslides, Seattle geology, Puget Lowland geology, geologic hazard mapping

Denise Walker Denise Walker Research associate professor, School of Social Work

ddwalker@uw.edu

206-543-7511

Development, testing and implementation of interventions that bring about positive changes in patterns of behavior; treatment of marijuana disorders in both adolescents and adults

Kathryn Watts Kathryn Watts Professor, law

kawatts@uw.edu

206-543-6299

Administrative law, constitutional law, presidential powers, U.S. Supreme Court

Jevin West Jevin West Associate professor, Information School

jevinw@uw.edu

206-543-2646

Misinformation, evolution of science