Board of Regents

Submitting Information and Action Items for Consideration by the Board of Regents

Members of the Board of Regents meet monthly to be advised of important matters related to the University of Washington and to take formal action on others. The Board of Regents currently functions with three standing committees: Finance and Asset Management, chaired by Regent Joel Benoliel; Academic and Student Affairs, chaired by Regent Rogelio Riojas; and Governance, chaired by the Board Chair, Regent Constance W. Rice. Information on Board Committees can be found in the Board bylaws (view the Bylaws, Article IV, Committees of the Board). Some subjects are retained for consideration by the full Board.

1.  Agendas are developed well in advance of a meeting. Please contact the appropriate office at least two months prior to the date of desired consideration to request that an item be included on an agenda. The decision of whether or not to include a proposed item in an agenda will be taken by the Chair of the Board or Committee on the advice of the President, Provost, or other staff, as appropriate. This document summarizes the process by which items come to the Board.

For items to be considered by the Academic and Student Affairs Committee, please contact the Office of the Provost.

For items to be considered by the Finance and Asset Management Committee, the Governance Committee, or the full Board, please contact the Office of the Board of Regents.

2.  Once an item has been included on the Board or a committee agenda, it is the responsibility of the item owner to meet the deadlines for final submission of materials established to the Office of the Board of Regents given below. Items should be fully reviewed within your unit before submission. The Office of the Provost may require an internal submission prior to the dates given below.

Use the item templates and observe the presentation guidelines linked below:

Preparing Information and Action items

Presenting at Meetings of the Board of Regents

Deadlines for final submission of items to the Board Office:

Item Due Dates:
Items are due by noon on the dates noted below.
Meeting Dates
Friday, December 28, 2018 Thursday, January 10, 2019*
Friday, February 1, 2019 Thursday, February 14, 2019
Friday, March 1, 2019 Thursday, March 14, 2019
Friday, March 29, 2019 Thursday, April 11, 2019
Friday, April 26, 2019 Thursday, May 9, 2019
Friday, May 31, 2019 Thursday, June 13, 2019
Friday, June 28, 2019 Thursday, July 11, 2019
Friday, July 26, 2019 Thursday, August 8, 2019*
Friday, August 30, 2019 Thursday, September 12, 2019
Friday, September 27, 2019 Thursday, October 10, 2019
Friday, November 1, 2019 Thursday, November 14, 2019
Friday, November 29, 2019 Thursday, December 12, 2019

*January and August meetings may be cancelled, circumstances permitting