UW News

May 10, 2007

2007 medical school class honors students, faculty and staff

The 2007 graduating class of the UW School of Medicine has selected its annual award recipients. The awards will be presented at the medical school’s 58th commencement ceremony, Saturday, June 2, in the Bank of America Arena at Hec Edmundson Pavilion, on the main UW campus.

Medical student Greg Lipksi is this year’s recipient of the Ellen Griep Award, which was established by the class of 1983. The award honors a classmate who has provided inspiration to his or her peers, staff, and faculty by managing the academic demands of medical school and maintaining excellence in other endeavors in life. The honor includes a monetary award for personal use. Lipski was diagnosed with leukemia while in medical school at the UW and was the subject of a feature article in the Seattle Post-Intelligencer in 2005: http://seattlepi.nwsource.com/local/253463_medstudent26.html.

N. Michelle Fleming, the administrative manager of student affairs in the School of Medicine, will receive the Margaret S. Anderson Award, established by the class of 1982. It honors a deserving staff or faculty member who has shown exceptional concern for and support of medical students. Staff and faculty may only receive the award once. Past award winners include: Diane Noecker, Daniel Olson, Constance Lamb, Michael Copass, Erika Goldstein, Daniel Hunt, Michael Laskowski, Carol MacLaren, Thomas McCormick, Terry Mengert, Douglas Paauw, Paul Ramsey, Timothy Pohlman, and John Sheffield.

The recipients of this year’s Distinguished Teacher Awards are:

Eric Kraus, associate professor of neurology, and Anne-Marie Amies Oelschlager, assistant professor of obstetrics and gynecology, were selected as the clinical science award winners.

Andrew Farr, professor of biological structure and of immunology, was selected as the basic science faculty award winner.

David Conley, affiliate instructor of biological structure, and a faculty member in the WWAMI medical education program at the Washington State University/University of Idaho teaching site in Pullman, who was selected for the WWAMI Distinguished Teacher Award.