UW News

November 3, 2005

Faculty, staff to be honored at fund-raising breakfast

Community leaders and several UW faculty and staff who promoted diversity at the University and in the community will be honored when the UW Alumni Association and the Multicultural Alumni Partnership hold the 11th annual Bridging the Gap Breakfast on Saturday, Nov. 5.

This celebration of diversity includes a buffet breakfast, award presentations, a live auction and entertainment. The event begins at 8 a.m. in the HUB Ballroom.

This year’s Distinguished Alumni awards will be presented to staffers Elena Guevara, an academic counselor in the UW Office of Minority Affairs; and Jeannette Allen, a program coordinator in the Office of Multicultural Affairs in the UW School of Medicine. Garfield High School teacher Betty Lau will also be honored.

The 2005 Dr. Samuel E. Kelly Award, which honors community visionaries who support diversity through a broad range of activities, will be presented by UW President Mark Emmert to UW Professor and Ombudsman Lois Price Spratlen, for her community service in mental health and public health. A Special Distinguished Award will be presented to UW Business Professor Thaddeus H. Spratlen.

A new honor, the Emerging Leader Award, will be presented by Nancy “Rusty” Barcelo, Vice President for Minority Affairs and Vice Provost for Diversity. The recipient will be named at the breakfast.

MAP scholarships will be awarded to Christopher Diangco, Dana Arviso, Nicholas McGrue, and Ismenia Gaviria. Jeremy Joseph will be honored as the Owen G. Lee Scholar, and Mary Westlund will be named the MAP/Macy’s Retail Management Scholar.

Proceeds from the live auction will go toward UW student scholarships. Ticket prices are $40 general admission, $35 for UWAA members and $30 for students with valid student ID. Tickets are available at the door.