UW News

December 11, 2003

Nominees sought for annual awards

Nominations are being sought for the annual UW awards — including the newly created James D. Clowes Teaching Award for Advancing Learning Communities — that honor outstanding instructional ability, contributions and achievements.

Specifically, nominations are being accepted for the UW’s Distinguished Teaching Award, Excellence in Teaching Award, S. Sterling Munro Public Service Teaching Award, the Brotman Award for Instructional Excellence and the Clowes award. The awards are coordinated through the Office of Undergraduate Education and the President’s Office.

To nominate a faculty member, graduate teaching assistant or a department, send a letter of no more than two pages specifying examples of the nominee’s attributes. The letter can be submitted to: 2004 Teaching Awards Selection Committee, Office of Undergraduate Education, 220 Mary Gates Hall, Box 352800. The name of the award and the name and contact information of the person making the nomination should be specified in the letter. Nominations will also be accepted via the Web at www.washington.edu/oue/academy/awards.html.

The Clowes award will honor a faculty or staff member who transforms undergraduate learning at the UW by creating or sustaining learning communities among students. The winner will receive $3,000 from the President’s Office and an additional $2,000 from the Office of Undergraduate Education will go to the recipient’s program or department to support student participation in learning communities.

The Distinguished Teaching Award honors several professors with a $5,000 award based on a number of criteria, including:

  •  the ability to engage students both within and outside the classroom,
  •  innovative course and curriculum design,
  •  the ability to rouse independent and original thinking in students,
  •  mastery of the subject, and more.

In addition, the Excellence in Teaching Award is given to two graduate teaching assistants for their demonstration of extraordinary ability in the teaching/learning process as a graduate TA. Recipients will receive a $2,500 award.

The S. Sterling Munro Public Service Teaching Award, thanks to a gift from the Henry M. Jackson Foundation, is given to a faculty member who has demonstrated exemplary leadership in community-based instruction, including public service internships and community partnership projects. The winning faculty member will receive $5,000 and funding from Undergraduate Education for a graduate student assistant.

The Brotman Award for Instructional Excellence, established thanks to a gift from Jeffrey and Susan Brotman, is given to academic units or groups of people that have achieved excellence in teaching and fostered excellent learning throughout a program of study. Individual Brotmans range from $10,000 to $35,000 depending on the number of awards given in a year. Recipients may use the award money in any way that improves undergraduate education consistent with the mission and spirit of the award.

Nominations are also open for the Distinguished Graduate Mentor Award sponsored by the Graduate School. The award, which carries a $5,000 stipend, recognizes an active member of the faculty who exemplifies excellence in graduate education. Nominators are asked to write a two-page letter citing specific examples of excellent mentoring by the nominee. Letters should be sent to the Distinguished Graduate Mentor Award Committee, c/o Dean Marsha Landolt, Box 353770 or by e-mail to dgma@grad.washington.edu.

The deadline for all these awards is Friday, Jan. 9.