UW News

November 29, 2001

Nominees sought for annual awards

Letters will go out next week to solicit nominees for several of the University’s annual awards. The deadline is 5 p.m., Friday, Jan. 18 for nominating individuals for the Distinguished Teaching Award, the Excellence in Teaching Award, and the S. Sterling Munro Public Service Teaching Award as well as groups for the Brotman Awards for Instructional Excellence. The deadline for the Distinguished Graduate Mentor Award is 5 p.m., Friday, Jan. 11.

The Distinguished Teaching Award is given to faculty based on mastery of the subject matter; enthusiasm and innovation in the teaching-learning process; ability to engage students both within and outside the classroom; ability to inspire independent and original thinking in students and to stimulate students to do creative work; and innovations in course and curriculum design.

The Excellence in Teaching Award is given to graduate teaching assistants for demonstration of extraordinary ability in the teaching-learning process as a TA. The Distinguished Teaching Award may be given to a faculty member only once.

Distinguished Teaching Award winners receive a $5,000 stipend and are inducted into the UW Teaching Academy. TAs who win the Excellence in Teaching Award are given $2,500 and become affiliate members of the Teaching Academy.

The S. Sterling Munro Public Service Teaching Award is given to a faculty member who has demonstrated exemplary leadership in community-based instruction, including service learning, public service internships, and community partnership projects. Winners receive a $5,000 award and are assigned a graduate student to work with them during the award year. Munro award winners are also inducted into the UW Teaching Academy.

Those nominating a faculty member or a TA for any of these three awards should submit a one page letter describing the nominee’s accomplishments to the Teaching Awards Selection Committee, c/o Acting Dean George Bridges, Box 352800, or complete the online nomination form at http://www.washington.edu/president/awards/.

The Distinguished Graduate Mentor Award was established in 1999 to honor faculty who have made outstanding contributions to the education and guidance of graduate students. All those holding graduate faculty appointments are eligible for the award, which carries a $5,000 stipend. Distinguished Graduate Mentor Award winners are also inducted into the UW Teaching Academy.

Nominators should write a letter no longer than two pages in which they cite specific examples of excellent mentoring by the faculty member. Submit letters to The Distinguished Graduate Mentor Awards Committee, c/o Dean Marsha L. Landolt, G-1 Communications Building, Box 353770, Fax: 206-685-3234. Materials submitted via e-mail should be sent to dgma@grad.washington.edu. For more information, consult the Web site: http://www.grad.washington.edu/mentor/index.htm.

The Brotman Award for Instructional Excellence recognizes academic units or groups of people who have achieved excellence in teaching and fostered excellent learning throughout a program of study. Programs, departments, or groups of faculty and/or staff within the UW are eligible to receive it.

Each year recipient groups receive between $10,000 and $35,000, depending on the number of awards given. Units may use the award money in any way that improves undergraduate education at the University.

Persons submitting nominating letters for the Brotman Award should briefly describe (in no more than two typed pages) the program or group being nominated, the nature of its accomplishments and indicators of excellence and achievement. The letter should be submitted to the Brotman Awards Selection Committee, Box 352800 or complete the online nomination form at http://www.washington.edu/president/awards/. For further information, send e-mail to baie@u.washington.edu.

Nomination letters for all the awards must include the name and current mailing address of the nominator. All the award winners will be honored in the spring at the annual recognition reception.