About the Press

The University of Washington Press is the nonprofit book and multimedia publishing arm of the University of Washington. The University of Washington Press plays an important role as the major scholarly publisher in the U.S. north of California and west of the Rockies. The Press has published approximately 4,400 books, of which about 1,400 are currently in print. Today we publish about sixty new titles each year.

From the beginning the Press has reflected the University's major academic strengths. Building on those strengths, the Press has achieved recognition as the leading publisher of scholarly books and distinguished works of regional nonfiction in the Pacific Northwest. Our titles cover a wide variety of academic fields, many of which reflect the strengths of our parent university. The Press has especially distinguished lists in Asian studies, Middle East studies, anthropology, Western history and biography, environmental studies, and natural history. We are recognized as the foremost publisher in the country on the art and culture of the Northwest Coast Indians and Alaskan Eskimos, and as a leader in the publication of materials dealing with the Asian American experience. In recent years, the Press has established copublishing and distribution relationships with a growing list of art museums and other institutions around the world.

Employment Information

When available, permanent job openings are posted on the University of Washington's employment site.

General Contact Information

Street address
4333 Brooklyn Avenue NE
Seattle, WA 98195-9570

Mailing address
Box 359570
Seattle, WA 98195-9570

General: (206) 543-4050
Fax: (206) 543-3932

Orders (U.S./Canada):
(800) 537-5487 or (410) 516-6956
Fax: (410) 516-6998
E-mail: hfscustserv@press.jhu.edu

Administration

Director
Nicole F. Mitchell
nfmm@uw.edu
(206) 685-9373

Advancement and Grants
Beth Fuget
bfuget@uw.edu
(206) 616-0818

Finance and Operations

CFO
Tom Helleberg
thh200@uw.edu
(206) 221-5892

Intellectual Property Manager
Puja Boyd
ptboyd@uw.edu
(206) 221-4997

Credit and Accounts Receivable Manager
Linda Tom
lindatom@uw.edu
(206) 543-4722

Accounts Payable
Heidi Olson
hoatar@uw.edu
(206) 543-2858

Acquisitions

Editor in Chief
Larin McLaughlin
lmclaugh@uw.edu
(206) 221-4995

Executive Editor
Lorri Hagman
lhagman@uw.edu
(206) 221-4989
Asian studies, cultural and environmental anthropology

Senior Acquisitions Editor
Ranjit Arab
rarab@uw.edu
(206) 221-4984
Western and environmental history, Native American studies, Asian American studies, American studies

Senior Acquisitions Editor
Regan Huff
rhuff@uw.edu
(206) 543-4053
Weyerhaeuser Environmental Books, art history, nature and environment, general interest books on the Northwest

Assistant Acquisitions Editor
Tim Zimmermann
tjz@uw.edu
(206) 221-4940

Editing, Design, and Production

Editing, Design, and Production Manager
Jacqueline Volin
jsvolin@uw.edu
(206) 221-4987

Assistant Managing Editor
Mary Ribesky
ribesky@uw.edu
(206) 685-9165

Senior Designer
Tom Eykemans
eykemans@uw.edu
(206) 221-7004

Graphic Designer
Dustin Kilgore
mrdustin@uw.edu
(206) 221-7004

Production Manager
Pamela Canell
pcanell@uw.edu
(206) 221-4993

Production Coordinator
Kirby Diane Murphy
kdm@uw.edu
(206) 221-4992

Marketing and Sales

Marketing and Sales Director
Rachael Levay
remann@uw.edu
(617) 871-0295 tel
(617) 932-1178 fax
Sales and general marketing

Publicity Manager
Natasha Varner
nvarner@uw.edu
(206) 221-4994
Publicity, including events, media, social media, awards, and monthly e-newsletter

Exhibits, Advertising, and Direct Mail Manager
Phoebe Daniels
phoebea@uw.edu
(206) 221-4996
Exhibits, direct marketing, advertising, and desk and exam requests

Catalog Manager and E-book Coordinator
Kathleen Pike Jones
kpike@uw.edu
(206) 221-4986
Website and E-book inquiries