UW School of Public Health E-news
April 2009  |  Return to issue home

Kudos to Our Faculty

Our outstanding faculty are regularly recognized for their achievements and making news. Some recent awards and appointments follow; and take a look at media coverage of our faculty.

DEOHS Professor Scott Barnhart and Clinical Associate Professor Tim Gilmour were named top doctors in the field of occupational medicine in the September 2008 issue of Seattle magazine.

Professor Shirley Beresford was elected president of the American Epidemiological Society, an elected-membership society of the top epidemiologists in the U.S.

Norman Breslow, professor of Biostatistics, received an inter-university honorary doctorate from the University of Hasselt and the Catholic University of Leuven in Belgium, the first awarded jointly by the two universities. The science faculty at the University of Hasselt offers an honorary doctorate only once every five years.

Bill Daniell, associate professor in DEOHS, has been named the Rohm & Haas Professor of Public Health Sciences. Sponsored by the Rohm & Haas Company of Philadelphia, the professorship gives an investigator five years of funding to look into the health consequences of working with chemicals. Bill’s work will focus on Southeast Asia, beginning with a study on pesticide exposures in Cambodia. Bill also received a Royalty Research Fund award from the UW for his work in Cambodia.

Professor Emeritus Ronald DiGiacomo received the fifth annual Noreen Harris Award for Excellence in Public Health Epidemiology from Public Health-Seattle & King County for his work in comparative and laboratory medicine and mentoring veterinarian epidemiologists.

Matt Keifer, professor in DEOHS, received a Community Volunteer Recognition Award at this year’s Martin Luther King, Jr. Tribute in the Health Sciences for his longstanding efforts to improve the lives of the underserved and at-risk groups.

DEOHS Professor Michael Morgan received the Meritorious Achievement Award from the American Conference of Governmental Industrial Hygienists for his outstanding long-term contributions to the field of occupational health and industrial hygiene.

Kenneth Sherr, clinical assistant professor of Global Health, was one of five scientists worldwide honored with a Young Investigator Award at the 2008 Global AIDS Conference in Mexico City.

Elizabeth Thompson, professor of Biostatistics and Statistics, was elected to the National Academy of Sciences for her research originality and excellence.

Health Services Professor Carolyn (Cindy) Watts was appointed chair of the Strategic Planning Advisory Committee in the Office of Financial Management for the state of Washington.

Michelle Williams, professor and director of the UW Multidisciplinary International Research Training Program, received the 2008 Lilienfeld Award, the American College of Epidemiology’s most prestigious honor, given for lifetime achievement.

April 2009  |  Return to issue home

UW School of Public Health, Office of the Dean, Box 357230, Seattle, WA 98195-7230
© 2008-2009 University of Washington  | Contact Us  | Privacy Policy