UW School of Pharmacy E-news
February 2010  |  Return to issue home

Faculty Honors & Milestones

Professor of Pharmacy Gail Anderson, Senior Lecturer of Pharmaceutics Duane Bloedow, Associate Professor of Pharmacy Lingtak-Neander Chan, Senior Lecturer of Pharmacy Dana Hammer and Associate Professor of Medicinal Chemistry Kent Kunze attended the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy Curriculum Summit in September. At the conference, they learned about curriculum revision in pharmacy education from national experts and faculty from around the country. Four major themes were explored: future competencies, pre-professional curricula, technology in education, and assessment.

An award from the Life Sciences Discovery Fund has provided support for a new biophysical characterization laboratory directed by Bill Atkins and Carlos Catalano, professors of medicinal chemistry.

Clinical Assistant Professor of Pharmacy Jennifer Beach, Associate Professor of Pharmacy Peggy Odegard, and Clinical Professor of Pharmacy Ann Wittkowsky won UW Medical Center “Golden Eddy” awards for their patient-education programs at UWMC. More

Research Associate Professor of Pharmacy Beth Devine was lead author on an article designated an "Editor's Choice" in the Journal of the American Medical Informatics Association—"The impact of computerized provider order entry on medication errors in a multispecialty group practice." Co-authors included faculty members Dave Blough and Sean Sullivan and graduate student Ryan Hansen from the School’s Pharmaceutical Outcomes Research and Policy Program. Alumna Jennifer Wilson-Norton, ’93, director of pharmacy services at The Everett Clinic, was a co-investigator on the study. More

Phil Hansten, professor emeritus of pharmacy, published Premature Factulation, The Ignorance of Certainty and the Ghost of Montaigne, released by Philoponus Press. The book discusses how readily humans come to conclusions without adequate study or reflection.

Rodney Ho, Milo Gibaldi endowed professor of pharmaceutics, presented at the First International Symposium of Nanomedicine on AIDS in November in Beijing.

John Horn, professor of pharmacy, and Phil Hansten served as members of the scientific steering committee for the meeting, "Generating, Evaluating, and Implementing Evidence for Drug-Drug Interactions in Health Information Technology to Improve Patient Safety: A Multi-Stakeholder Conference." The conference was supported by a grant from the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, Department of Health and Human Services. Both Horn and Hansten also gave presentations at the October conference in Maryland.

Rene Levy
Rene Levy

Rene Levy, professor of pharmaceutics and director of the Metabolism and Transport Drug Interaction Database (DIDB), retired at the end of last year. Said Dean Thomas Baillie about Levy: "During the almost 40 years that Rene has been part of our faculty, he established what is now a world-class Department of Pharmaceutics, brought rigorous pharmacokinetic principles to the field of anti-epileptic drug therapy, trained scores of students and postdoctoral fellows, and founded the UW Metabolism and Transport Drug Interaction Database that is used extensively by researchers in the pharmaceutical industry worldwide. Altogether, a remarkably successful career!" More

Sid Nelson, dean emeritus and professor of medicinal chemistry, was awarded a National Institutes of Health fellowship to carry out research in the areas of metabolomics and metabonomics in the laboratory of Professor Jeremy Nicholson at Imperial College London. He is on sabbatical leave to join Dr. Nicholson’s laboratory—which has been at the forefront of this kind of research—during winter quarter of 2010. Nelson was also named the National University of Singapore Society Visiting Professor for 2009, and will be returning in June 2010 as part of its Department of Pharmacy program review and other lectureship activities.

Peggy Odegard, associate professor of pharmacy, received the Outstanding Leadership Award for 2009 from the American Diabetes Association of Washington. Odegard currently is the organization’s board president.  

Andy Stergachis, adjunct professor of pharmacy, received the Washington State Pharmacy Association Innovative Pharmacy Practice Award. This award recognizes a practicing pharmacist or technician using innovative pharmacy practice to improve patient care and outcomes in the state. More

February 2010  |  Return to issue home

UW School of Pharmacy, Office of the Dean, Box 357631, Seattle, WA 98195-7631
© 2008-2010 University of Washington  | Contact Us  | Privacy Policy