UW School of Pharmacy E-news
February 2010  |  Return to issue home

Student Awards & Honors

Ben Andrews, a postdoctoral fellow in the Department of Medicinal Chemistry, received a Postdoctoral Fellowship from the National Institutes of Health.

Students at October's osteoporosis health fair
Students at October's osteoporosis health fair

In October, Katharine Chan, ’11, Sandra Chiang, ’10, Sarah Craciun, ’11, Irida Kauri, ’12, Michelle Kunita, ’11, Dana Ling, ’11, Dara Uch, ’11, Jerika Ward, ’11, and Gan Yern, ’11, participated in an osteoporosis health fair at the North Bellevue Community Center through the American Society of Consultant Pharmacists UW student chapter with faculty adviser Annie Lam and Walgreens pharmacist Lijun Xu. They educated the elderly Chinese community about prevention and treatment of osteoporosis and conducted bone mineral density scans for almost 60 people, among other activities.

Katharine Chan, ’11, Rieti Chan, ’11, Michelle Kunita, ’11, Angela Lam, ’10, Dara Uch, ’11, and Jenni Yea, ’10—all current and past student leaders in the American Society of Consultant Pharmacists (ASCP) UW student chapter—were chosen to showcase their poster at the ASCP 40th Annual Meeting in California in November. Their poster assessed the impact of the ASCP UW student chapter’s outreach services.

Jonathan Chenoweth, ’11, was selected for an American Pharmacists Association (APhA) Student Leadership Award—one of four awards given nationally. This award recognizes outstanding academic achievement and leadership ability in APhA-Academy of Student Pharmacists members at the local, regional and national levels. He will be recognized at the APhA Annual Meeting in Washington, D.C., in March.

Zach Conroy, ’11, is the senior UW student liaison for the Washington State Pharmacy Association Board of Directors.

Karen Craddick
Karen Craddick

Karen Craddick, ’12, was elected regional delegate at the APhA-Academy of Student Pharmacists Midyear Regional Meeting in Portland. She is also the junior UW student liaison for the Washington State Pharmacy Association Board of Directors.

Sara Forrester, ’12, Phuong-Lien Nguyen, ’12, and Joanna Preker, ’12, are working to create a pharmacy student women's health group on campus—to promote women's health in general health care and in pharmaceutical care.

The research of Ryan Hansen, ’03, graduate student in the Pharmaceutical Outcomes Research and Policy Program, helped inform a Congressional request that the FDA examine and report on "A" rated anti-epileptic drugs—specifically to report on adverse events and seizures associated with brand and generic anti-epileptic drugs and examine the pharmacokinetic profiles of "A" rated anti-epileptic drugs from different manufacturers of the same therapeutic agent.

Three UW students were selected to be on national student advisory groups for the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists: Steven Larson, ’13, and Ellen Maddox, ’10, will be on the Meetings and Programming Group; and Melinda Soriano, ’10, on the Policy and Legislative Affairs Advisory Group.

Pharmaceutics graduate students Li Liu and Peng Hsiao received travel awards from the Center for AIDS Research and Aaron Moss received a travel award from the American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists (AAPS) to present their work at industry conferences. Li Liu presented her study at the International Society for the Study of Xenobiotics Conference; Peng Hsiao at the Japanese Society for the Study of Xenobiotics Conference; and Aaron Moss at the AAPS Annual Meeting and Exposition.

Tahnee Marginean
Tahnee Marginean

Tahnee Marginean, ’10, was named the Washington State Pharmacy Association’s 2009 Pharmacy Student of the Year. This award recognizes a student member who makes consistent, sustained and outstanding contributions toward the growth and development of pharmacy student participation on both a local and state level. More

Luis Ramos, ’10, and Heather Surerus-Lopez, ’12, received Participation Awards from the UW Student Providers Aspiring to Rural and Underserved Experiences (SPARX) and Community Health Advancement Program (CHAP). The awards were for exceptional participation in activities that promote commitment to social justice and service to the community.

Caleb Woods, graduate student in medicinal chemistry, was awarded one of 10 national American Chemical Society Division of Medicinal Chemistry predoctoral fellowships for $24,000.

February 2010  |  Return to issue home

UW School of Pharmacy, Office of the Dean, Box 357631, Seattle, WA 98195-7631
© 2008-2010 University of Washington  | Contact Us  | Privacy Policy