The annual David B. Thorud Leadership Award recognizes one faculty member and one staff member who have demonstrated exceptional abilities to lead, serve, inspire, and collaborate with broad impact.

The award is named in honor of David B. Thorud, who has effectively served the University of Washington in leadership positions for 25 years.

Nominations are open June 29 - December 18, 2015.

Photograph of Edward Lazowska and Chance Reschke, 2015 David B. Thorud
Leadership Award Recipients

2015 David B. Thorud
Leadership Award Recipients

Edward Lazowska
Bill & Melinda Gates Chair, Computer Science & Engineering

Chance Reschke
Director of Research Computing, UW-IT

Lead - Serve - Inspire

2016 David B. Thorud Leadership Award Timeline

  • June 29 - December 18

    Nominations submitted.

  • December

    Nominees reviewed for eligibility.

  • January

    Nominees and nominators are emailed a congratulatory email. Congratulatory letters and copies of nominations are then campus mailed to all nominees who have met the award criteria.

    Selection committee begins review of eligible nominees.

  • March

    Thorud awardees are notified by the Vice President of Human Resources and are invited to the University's Annual Awards of Excellence ceremony.

    Office of the President sends congratulatory letters to awardees.

  • April

    UW Today officially announces all awardees.

  • June

    Annual Awards of Excellence and reception for all awardees.

    Thorud awardees are highlighted on the Thorud website.