UW Retirement Association

UWRA board and committees

UWRA board members at 2017 MAP breakfast

Board members represent UWRA at the 2017 MAP Breakfast.

The UWRA Board meets on the second Wednesday of each month to provide leadership and oversight to the organization. Board members are elected by the membership to serve three-year terms. The board’s officers (President, First Vice President, Second Vice President, Secretary and Treasurer) are elected by the board. Members of the current board are listed below, along with the departments from which they retired.

The Executive Committee of the Board includes the board officers, the immediate past president (Míċeál Vaughan), and one member-at-large elected from the board.

Board committees vary from year to year depending on the needs of the organization. Current board committees include Financial Review; Legislation & Benefits; Nominating; Program Planning; Race, Indigeneity, Equity and Inclusion; and Scholarships and Fellowships. Read more about board committees…

2020-2021 UWRA Board

  • Rebecca Goodwin Deardorff (President’s Office), Co-President
  • Judith Howard (Gender, Women and Sexuality Studies; Sociology), Co-President
  • Tom Hinckley (School of Environmental and Forest Sciences), 1st Vice President
  • Joan Goldblatt (Office of the Board of Regents), 2nd Vice President
  • Mike Shapiro (Asian Languages & Literature), Secretary
  • Eileen Robison (Student Financial Aid), Treasurer
  • Paul Aoki (Department of Linguistics)
  • Cherry McGee Banks (School of Educational Studies, UW-Bothell)
  • Charles Hirschman (Sociology)
  • Bruce Miller (Human Resources)
  • Carol Niccolls (Office of the President; Office of the Attorney General)
  • Helen Shawcroft (UW Medicine)
  • Lea Vaughn (School of Law)