State Relations

December 22, 2020

WA state House & Senate announce leadership changes and committee assignments

The 2020 Washington state general election results were certified by Secretary of State Kim Wyman on Dec. 3 with voter turnout high at just above 84 percent. Democrats will retain their majorities in both the House of Representatives (57-41) and Senate (28-21).

With the election now over, Democrats and Republicans have made changes to leadership and committee assignments. Sen. John Braun (legislative district 20) will now serve as the Senate Republican Leader, taking over for Sen. Mark Schoesler (LD 9) who announced his step down from leadership in late November. Sen. Andy Billig (LD 3) will continue to serve as Senate Majority Leader, and Rep. Laurie Jinkins (LD 27) and Rep. J.T. Wilcox (LD 2) have been re-elected by their caucuses to serve as the Speaker of the House and House Minority Leader respectively.

On the Senate Ways & Means Committee, Sen. Lynda Wilson (LD 17) has been newly selected to serve as Ranking Minority Member and Sen. Christine Rolfes (LD 23) will return as chair. The Appropriations Committee leaders remain the same with Rep. Timm Ormsby (LD 3) serving as chair and Rep. Drew Stokesbary (LD 31) as ranking member.

The House College & Workforce Development Committee will also see changes in 2021. Rep. Vandana Slatter (LD 48) will chair the committee and Rep. Kelly Chambers (LD 25) will serve as ranking member. The Senate higher education committee will once again see Sen. Emily Randall (LD 26) as chair and Sen. Jeff Holy (LD 6) as ranking member.

To view the House and leadership members and committee assignments, follow the links below:

The 2021 legislative session begins Monday, Jan. 11 and will convene for 105 days.