Board of Regents

Joanne R. Harrell

Joanne Harrell

Joanne Harrell is the Senior Director for U.S. Citizenship and Market Development at Microsoft, where she has worked since 2001 leading teams in the Global Sales, Marketing and Services disciplines focused on Enterprise, Public Sector and Original Equipment Manufacturing (OEM) customers and partners.

Ms. Harrell’s pre-Microsoft work history is extensive and encompasses executive roles within the high-tech, telecommunications and non-profit sectors.

Joanne is a former Conference Board/Brookings Institution Congressional Fellow and has completed Marketing Management programs at Columbia University and Stanford University. She has also completed the Stanford Advanced Management College and a non-profit management program at The Harvard Business School.  Her B.A. and M.B.A. are from the University of Washington.  In 2014, she completed the Corporate Citizenship Leadership Academy at the Boston College Carroll School of Management, where she now serves on the Academy’s Advisory Board.

A Regent for the University of Washington since 2009, Joanne served as Board Chair in 2012-2013, and currently chairs the Board of Regents Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Advisory Committee.  Ms. Harrell also serves on the Brookings Institution Metropolitan Policy Program Leadership Council.

Joanne was inducted into the University of Washington School of Communication “Hall of Fame” in 2009, and was selected as the school’s 2013 Distinguished Alumna. She was honored by U.S. Senator Maria Cantwell as a 2015 “Woman of Valor” in honor of her leadership and community impact.  In November 2016, Joanne was selected as a “Woman of Influence” by the Puget Sound Business Journal and as a Woman of Impact in November 2017, by the International Women’s Forum (IWF).

In May 2017, Joanne and her spouse, Bruce Harrell, were co-recipients of the University of Washington Charles E. Odegaard Award for Outstanding Community Service and Diversity on behalf of the citizens of the State of Washington. This is the UW’s only University and community selected award.

  • Appointed by Governor Christine Gregoire from October 16, 2009 to September 30, 2015
  • Confirmed by Senate on February 13, 2010
  • Reappointed by Governor Jay Inslee from October 1, 2015 to September 30, 2021
  • Confirmed by Senate on February 28, 2018