Office of the Provost

Deanship of the School of Public Health

Revised: May 2, 2018

Hilary Godwin named dean of the School of Public Health

Hilary Godwin has been named the next dean of the University of Washington’s School of Public Health, President Ana Mari Cauce and Provost Jerry Baldasty announced. Her appointment, set to begin July 15, 2018, is subject to approval by the UW Board of Regents.

Read story


The University of Washington seeks a dynamic, accomplished, and inspiring leader to serve as Dean of the School of Public Health.

Advisory Search Committee on the Deanship of the School of Public Health

  • Lisa Graumlich, professor and dean, College of the Environment, chair
  • Joseph Babigumira, assistant professor, Department of Global Health, Schools of Public Health and Medicine
  • Anirban Basu, professor, Department of Pharmacy, School of Pharmacy
  • Alison Cullen, professor, Evans School of Public Policy and Governance
  • Matthew Dacanay, ASUW representative, senior, School of Public Health
  • Butch De Castro, associate professor, School of Nursing and Health Studies, UW Bothell
  • M. Ragan Hart, GPSS representative, Department of Biostatistics
  • Patricia Hayes, director, Public Health—Seattle & King County
  • Janine Jones, associate professor, College of Education
  • Lisa Manhart, professor, Departments of Epidemiology and Global Health, Schools of Public Health and Medicine
  • DJ Miller, administrator, Department of Epidemiology, School of Public Health
  • Charles Nolan, MD, clinical professor, School of Public Health, Member, School of Public Health Dean’s Council
  • Paul Phillips, professor, Departments of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences and Pharmacology, Schools of Medicine and Pharmacy
  • Noah Seixas, professor, Department of Environmental and Occupational Health, School of Public Health
  • The Honorable Ron Sims, chair, School of Public Health Dean’s Council
  • Hilaire Thompson, professor, Department of Biobehavioral Nursing and Health Systems, School of Nursing
  • Timothy Thornton, associate professor, Department of Biostatistics, School of Public Health
  • Emily Williams, associate professor, Department of Health Services, School of Public Health

Charge letter

Dear Colleagues:

Thank you for agreeing to serve on the advisory search committee to identify and recommend candidates for the position of dean of the School of Public Health. Lisa Graumlich, professor and dean of the College of the Environment, will chair the committee. We are fortunate to have such a superb committee.

Our goal is to have a new dean in place by July 1, 2018. Interim Dean Joel Kaufman will continue to serve until a new dean is in place. I am grateful to Joel for stepping into this important role. Enclosed is a copy of Executive Order 20 from the University of Washington Policy Directory, which sets forth the basic procedures for conducting a search for a dean. The University has a strong commitment to diversity, which I ask you to consider seriously as you build a pool of eligible candidates. Please establish protocols for seeking the opinions from members of the School of Public Health, broader UW faculty, student and staff communities, as well as other appropriate constituencies within and outside the University of Washington.

At the conclusion of the search, the President and I would like to receive from you the names of at least three highly qualified candidates. The first meeting of the search committee will be on Tuesday, July 25, 2017 from 9 a.m. to 11 a.m. in Gerberding Hall, Room G26. I will attend a portion of that meeting to discuss the search with you. Thank you very much for accepting this important assignment.

Gerald J. Baldasty
Provost and Executive Vice President
Professor, Communication
Adjunct Professor, American Ethnic Studies; Gender, Women and Sexuality Studies

Download charge letter (PDF)