UW Today

UW flooding and landslide experts

UW experts on the causes and consequences of flooding and landslides. See also the weather, climate change and infrastructure experts’ lists.

David Montgomery
Professor, Earth & Space Sciences
bigdirt@uw.edu | 206-685-2560 | Web
Expertise: Dirt: formation, transport, movement

Joseph Wartman
Associate professor, Civil & Environmental Engineering
wartman@uw.edu | 206-685-4806 | Web
Expertise: Slope stability, natural hazards

Kathy Troost
Senior lecturer, Earth & Space Sciences
ktroost@uw.edu | 206-221-1770 | Web
Expertise: Landslides, Seattle geology, Puget Lowland geology, geologic hazard mapping

Alison Duvall
Assistant professor, Earth & Space Sciences
aduvall@uw.edu | 206-221-8311 | Web
Expertise: Hillsides, river channels, landslides

Steven Kramer
Professor, Civil & Environmental Engineering
kramer@uw.edu | 206-685-2642 | Web
Expertise: Foundations, soil liquefaction

Robert Naiman
Emeritus Professor, Aquatic & Fishery Sciences, part-time at University of Western Australia
naiman@uw.edu (email only) | Web
Expertise: Rivers

Jessica Lundquist
Associate Professor, Civil & Environmental Engineering
jdlund@uw.edu | 206-685-7594 | Web
Expertise: Mountain snow, snow melt and streams

Eric Salathé
Associate Professor, Climate Science at UW Bothell
salathe@uw.edu | 206-616-5351 | Web
Expertise: Extreme precipitation and regional climate change

Ronda Strauch
Doctoral student, Civil & Environmental Engineering
rstrauch@uw.edu | 425-445-7934 | Web
Expertise: Roads, flooding and climate change