Silence or Ban a Participant

Silence Participants

Silencing a participant means that they can no longer post messages. Silenced participants can still access the board to view discussions.

To silence a participant, follow these steps:

  1. StepsActions
  2. From the GoPost home page, click the name of the board with which you want to work. You will move to the board home page.
  3. Click Manage in the global navigation at the upper right. You will move to the "Manage" page.
  4. Click Edit to to right of "Participant Access & Roles." You will move to the "Participant Access & Roles" page.
  5. Find the participant you want to silence in the participant list.
  6. From the "Silence/Ban" drop-down menu at the right of the page, select Silence. You might need to wait a moment as the setting is saved and the page refreshes.

When a silenced participant logs in to access the board, a message will tell them who silenced them and when.

Ban Participants

Banning participants means that they will no longer be able to access the board to view discussions or post messages. Their profiles will be removed and they will not appear on the participant list.

Note: Banned participants who are not logged in will still be able to view discussions in a board that is public.

To ban a participant, follow these steps:

  1. StepsActions
  2. From the GoPost home page, click the name of the board with which you want to work. You will move to the board home page.
  3. Click Manage in the global navigation at the upper right. You will move to the "Manage" page.
  4. Click Edit to the right of "Participant Access & Roles." You will move to the "Participant Access & Roles" page.
  5. Find the participant you want to ban in the participant list.
  6. From the "Silence/Ban" drop-down menu at the right of the page, select Ban.
  7. A pop-up alert will appear asking you to confirm. If you are sure that you would like to ban the participant, click OK.

An email will be sent to the banned participants notifying them that they have been banned and indicating who banned them. If banned participants log in to access the board, they will be redirected to a screen telling them that they have been banned.

Last modified: January 2, 2014