What Do I Need to Do at the End of the Quarter?

This tutorial takes you through the necessary tasks for wrapping up a course and suggests a few things to consider to plan for future use of course content.

At or near the end of the quarter, you can:

  • submit grades
  • inventory course content for use in a future session
  • export course content
  • officially end the Canvas course

Submit Grades

When grading for the term is open, you can go directly to Catalyst GradePage at http://catalyst.uw.edu/gradepage or follow the link provided in the email reminder from the Registrar. GradePage has a button that you click to begin the process of importing your grades from Canvas and submitting them online.

Before you begin the process of importing grades, you should create a backup of your Canvas Gradebook. To do this, you will create a .csv file of your grades and then download to your computer.

Follow these steps to download a .csv file of your Canvas Gradebook:

  1. From within your Canvas course, in the course navigation, click Grades.
  2. At the top of your Gradebook, click the button with the gear icon.
  3. In the menu, click Download Scores (.csv).
  4. In the Save File dialog box, give your file a name that will be useful for archiving. You might want to include the year, term, and/or class title in the file name.

Inventory Course Content

Review all course content. Is there anything that you do not want students to have access to once the quarter is over, such as answer keys? You can delete these files from the course, lock them, or hide the entire Files section.

Export Your Course

Consider any future uses of the course content. Will another instructor be teaching this course next semester? Would you like to share the course content with someone at another institution? Do you need a portable archive of the course? If the answer to any of these questions is yes, you will want to export your course from Canvas.

Follow these steps to export your course:

  1. From within your course, in the course navigation, click Settings.
  2. On the right side of the screen, in the sidebar, click Export Course Content.
  3. On the Content Exports page, make sure that the radio button for Course is selected, and then click Create Export. A progress bar will appear. Time for export will vary depending on the amount of course content.
  4. When the export is complete, a link appears: New export: Click to Download. Click this link.
  5. In the dialog box, you will see an .imscc file: "your course name"-export.imscc. You can change the file name for archiving purposes.

Canvas sends a message to your default email account notifying you that the course export is complete. This message includes a link for downloading the exported file.

To share the file, simply attach it to an email (keeping in mind email provider file limits). You can also keep it for your own use, to import to a future Canvas course.

End Your Course

UW does not set system-wide term dates in Canvas to start and end all courses, which puts faculty in control of when students have access to a course. If you do not choose to end your course, it will remain active in the Courses & Groups list for both you and your students. Ending your course puts it into an archived state where your students will have read-only access to the content and can no longer make any changes.

Note: Make sure you have completed all the steps above before you end your course.

There are two ways to end a course:

  • Set an end date in the course Settings. Recommended
  • Use the End this Course button on the Settings page of your course. Not recommended.

Setting an end date maintains your control of the course. You can restore student access to the course simply by changing the end date.

Using the End this Course button de-enrolls you and all students from the course, and removes your access to the course. Regaining access is a two-step process that must be initiated by contacting help@uw.edu.

Follow these steps to set an end date for your course:

  1. From within your Canvas course, in the course navigation, click Settings.
  2. Click the Course Details tab to ensure that you are on the Course Details screen. At the bottom of the screen, click Edit Course Details.
  3. In the Ends field, enter the date that you want the course to end. You can enter the date manually or click the calendar to select a date. Make sure that you select the check box: Users can only participate in the course between these dates to ensure that you are actually setting the dates within which students will have access to the course.
  4. Click Update Course Details.

Last modified: December 17, 2013