You can provide access to your Canvas course site with a UW Group. If you have a group of instructors or cohort of students that are not officially registered for a course, but you would like them to be able to observe or participate, you can grant this access with a UW group.
Instructors and administrators will see a UW Groups tab in the Canvas course navigation. This tool enables you to add a UW group to any role in a Canvas course.
All of the individuals from the selected UW group are added to the course, and listed on the People page under the role assigned. Group members with valid UW NetIDs or Gmail accounts can be added to Canvas. Please note that shared UW NetIDs cannot access Canvas.
To add or remove users from your UW group, use the UW Groups service, found at https://groups.uw.edu/. This is where you can create and manage UW Groups, and edit the membership of the group.
Changes made in Canvas will have no effect on the membership of your UW group. In your Canvas course you can remove members of any UW group you have added using the People page, but the next time the systems are synced the members of that group will reappear. To remove or add an individual from the group, you must use the UW Groups service to change the group membership.