Recreation

Recreation Staff

Executive Team

Matt Newman, Director

MattN

Matt Newman
Director

206.543.7082
mattn@uw.edu

Hometown: Central City, NE
Education: University of Arizona
If I went “pro,” I would be a: groundskeeper

Katie Beth, Associate Director for Facilities & Operations

171109-UW-Recreation-JWH-Staff-Headshots-4936

Katie Beth
Associate Director for Facilities & Operations; Interim Associate Director for Programs

206.543.7089
kbeth6@uw.edu

Hometown: Chicago, IL
Education: University of Tampa
If I went “pro,” I would be a: volleyball player

Marilyn Carruth, Administrator

171003-UWREC-JWH-Instructor-Headshots-079

Marilyn Carruth
Administrator

206.543.3673
carruthm@uw.edu

Hometown: Olympia, WA
Education: Western Washington University
If I went “pro,” I would be a: baseball scout

Matt Jensen, Associate Director for UWild Adventures

Matt Jensen
Associate Director for UWild Adventures

206.616.2083
mcjensen@uw.edu

Hometown: Norfolk, NE
Education: University of Nebraska, Omaha
If I went “pro,” I would be a: #vanlife


Administration

Janell Norman, Fiscal Specialist

Janell Norman
Fiscal Specialist

206.616.1142
anorman8@uw.edu

Hometown: Bellingham, WA
If I went “pro,” I would be an: emergency manager

Tera Figueroa, Administrative Specialist

Tera Figueroa
Administrative Specialist

tsimmons@uw.edu

Hometown: Seattle, Washington
Education: University of Washington
If I went “pro,” I would be a: pro beach volleyball player

Tom Wang, Fiscal Specialist

Tom Wang
Fiscal Specialist

206.543.4591
tomwang@uw.edu

Hometown: Kirkland, WA
Education: St. Mary’s University of Minnesota
If I went “pro,” I would be a: car mechanic


Programs

Carrie Wigton, Personal Training & Weight Training Coordinator

Carrie Wigton
Personal Training & Weight Training Coordinator

206.616.2072
cwigton@uw.edu

Hometown: Claremont, CA
Education: University of Puget Sound
If I went “pro,” I would be a: football player

Chris Delaune, Rec Clubs Manager

171107-UWRecreation-Staff-Headshots-4882

Chris Delaune
Rec Clubs Manager

206.543.9499
delaune@uw.edu

Hometown: New Orleans, LA
Education: Tulane University; University of Denver
If I went “pro,” I would be a: crabber

Danny Arguetty, Mindfulness Manager

 

Danny Arguetty
Mindfulness Manager

206.685.7730
dannyarg@uw.edu

Hometown: Tel-Aviv, Israel
Education: University of Denver, Pepperdine University
If I went “pro,” I would be a: healthy dessert baker

Jeff Palmer, Fitness Manager

Jeff Palmer
Fitness Manager

206.543.1717
jpalmer8@uw.edu

Hometown: Manhattan Beach, CA
Education: Loyola Marymount, Concordia University
If I went “pro,” I would: be in law enforcement

 

Josh Yeager, Aquatics & Safety Manager

171109-UW-Recreation-JWH-Staff-Headshots-4921

Josh Yeager
Aquatics & Safety Manager

206.685.7401
jy78@uw.edu

Hometown: St. Thomas, PA
Education: Bridgewater College
If I went “pro,” I would be a: chef

Sam Rodenberg, Intramural Manager

Sam Rodenberg
Intramural Manager

206.543.9346
sroden@uw.edu

Hometown: Melrose, WI
Education: University of Wisconsin – Lacrosse, Oregon State University
If I went “pro,” I would be an: ultimate frisbee player for the Seattle Cascades


Facilities & Operations

Bart Brandvig, Maintenance Mechanic

Bart Brandvig
Maintenance Mechanic

206.255.6886
branbar@uw.edu

Carlos Rodriguez, Maintenance Mechanic

Carlos Rodriguez
Maintenance Mechanic

206.255.5524
cr34@uw.edu

Chad Yarbrough, Operations Coordinator

Chad

Chad Yarbrough
Operations Coordinator

206.616.3251
cyarb@uw.edu

Hometown: Seattle, WA
Education: University of Washington
If I went “pro,” I would be a: pro baseball player

Emma Chambers, Program Coordinator

Emma Chambers
Program Coordinator

206.543.4590

emmac22@uw.edu

Hometown: Everett, WA
Education: University of Washington
If I went “pro,” I would be a: writer

Giancarlo Provo, Program Coordinator

Giancarlo Provo
Program Coordinator

gprovo@uw.edu

Hometown: Des Moines, WA
Education: University of Washington
If I went “pro,” I would be a: doggie daycare owner

Janae Norman, Program Coordinator

Janae Norman
Program Coordinator

Hometown: Bellingham, WA
Education: Whatcom Community College; Western Washington University
If I went “pro,” I would be a: dog cuddler

Jim Paschall, Maintenance Mechanic

171109-UW-Recreation-JWH-Staff-Headshots-4951

Jim Paschall
Maintenance Mechanic

206.396.5129
jamesp25@uw.edu

Hometown: Spokane, WA
If I went “pro,” I would be an: electrician

Joe Sanchez, Maintenance Custodian

Joe Sanchez
Maintenance Custodian

206.396.5180
js59@uw.edu

John Van Clark, Maintenance Custodian

John Van Clark
Maintenance Custodian

206.543.9433
jvc22@uw.edu

Jorge Vasquez, Custodian

Jorge Vasquez
Custodian

jorgev@uw.edu

Hometown: Philippines
Education: 2nd Year College (M.E.)

Julie Gillespie, Operations Manager

171109-UW-Recreation-JWH-Staff-Headshots-4931

Julie Gillespie
Operations Manager

206.616.7345
julies14@uw.edu

Hometown: Spokane, WA
Education: Gonzaga University
If I went “pro,” I would be a: soccer player

Mohammed Alfrea, Custodian

Mohammed Alfrea
Custodian

alferm@uw.edu

Mulu Kidane, Custodian

Mulu Kidane
Custodian

muluk@uw.edu

Niles Appleby, Golf Range Manager

Niles Appleby
Golf Range Manager

206.543.8759
nappleby@uw.edu

Hometown: Redmond, WA
Education: University of Washington
If I went “pro,” I would be a: golfer

Peter Franco, Custodian

Peter Franco
Custodian

peter426@uw.edu

Pilo Manaois, Maintenance Mechanic

Pilo Manaois
Maintenance Mechanic

206.255.6889
pilo@uw.edu

Hometown: Mountlake Terrace, WA
Education: Feati University, Manila – Philippines
If I went “pro,” I would be a: medical tech

Rezene Tesfamariam, Custodian Lead

Rezene Tesfamariam
Custodian Lead

rsbyuc@uw.edu

Ronald Estacio, Custodian

Ronald Estacio
Custodian

206.396.2092
re7@uw.edu

Tim Taylor, Facilities Manager

Tim Taylor
Facilities Manager

206.255.6883
taylort@uw.edu

Tom Shih, Custodian

Tom Shih
Custodian

tshih3@uw.edu

Hometown: Taipei, Taiwan


UWild Adventures

Bryan Anderson, Field Programs Manager

Bryan Anderson
Field Programs Manager

Hometown: Puyallup, WA
Education: Eastern Washington University
If I went “pro,” I would be a: bee keeper

Nathan Page, Climbing Programs Manager

Nathan Page
Climbing Programs Manager

206.616.1143

njpage@uw.edu

Hometown: Gig Harbor, WA
Education: Pacific Lutheran University
If I went “pro,” I would be a: speed walker

Rod Smith, Waterfront Manager

Rod Smith
Waterfront Manager

206.685.7518
resmith3@uw.edu

Hometown: Redmond, WA
Education: Gonzaga University
If I went “pro,” I would be a: coach


IT

Adam Coward, IT Administrator

Adam Coward
IT Administrator

206.616.1087
rectech@uw.edu

Hometown: Lakeville, CT
Education: Ithaca College
If I went “pro,” I would be a: trail runner


Special Projects

Nicole Klein, Capital Campaign Manager

Nicole Klein
Capital Campaign Manager

206.221.8517
kleinn@uw.edu

Hometown: Coos Bay, OR
Education: University of Oregon
If I went “pro,” I would be a: museum curator

Marketing & Communications

Robin Brooks, Marketing and Communications Manager

A photo of Robin Brooks

Robin Brooks
Marketing & Communications Manager

206.685.1144
rebrooks@uw.edu

Hometown: Houghton, MI
Education: Northern Michigan University, University of Idaho, UW
If I went “pro,” I would be a: wanderer