Faculty Senate & Governance

Dispute resolution

All university faculty have rights and responsibilities that are protected under the University Handbook, which includes the Faculty Code. Faculty who are concerned about possible injustices or mistreatment have many options at their disposal. The two links below contain detailed guides to those options:

University ombud

The Office of the University Ombud is a resource for faculty, staff, and students for a variety of support needs including mediation and planning.


Especially if the aggrieving action may violate the Faculty Code, it is appropriate to contact the secretary of the faculty for information about the adjudication process set forth in Chapter 28 of the Faculty Code.  After consulting with the secretary, petitioners must follow the filing procedures linked below.

Adjudication documents

Chapter 28 mandates the appointment of an Adjudication Panel, a broad-based peer group whose members hear grievances and recommend remedies. The chair of the Adjudication Panel submits annual reports summarizing the year’s activities.

Adjudication Panel members 2019-20:

  • Myhre, Theo, School of Law (Chair)
  • Vaughn, Lea, School of Law (Vice Chair)
  • Ban, Jeff, College of Engineering
  • Bernard, Jonathan, College of Arts & Sciences
  • Binder, Marc, School of Medicine
  • Christie, Rich, College of Engineering
  • Cilli-Turner, Emily, Interdisciplinary Arts & Sciences, UW Tacoma
  • Covey, Ellen, College of Arts & Sciences
  • Dougherty, Cynthia, School of Nursing
  • Emery, Ashley, College of Engineering
  • Feroz, Ehsan, Milgard School of Business, UW Tacoma
  • Garrison, Michelle, School of Medicine
  • Giachetti, Lorenzo, College of Arts & Sciences
  • Gillis-Bridges, Kimberlee, College of Arts & Sciences
  • Harris, Marian, School of Social Work
  • Hazlet, Thomas, School of Pharmacy
  • Lin, Ken-Yu, College of Built Environments
  • Manner, Paul, School of Medicine
  • Paparella, Pietro, Division of Engineering and Mathematics, UW Bothell
  • Ryan, Clare, College of the Environment
  • Shirley, Jamie, School of Nursing, UW Bothell
  • Stygall, Gail, College of Arts & Sciences
  • Thompson, Matthew, School of Medicine
  • Vogt, Kristiina, College of the Environment