'98 National Ambassadors

Group photo of 1998 National DO-IT Scholars

The following Ambassadors began participating in DO-IT in 1998. They continue to pursue college and career goals and encourage younger Scholars and Ambassadors.

Image of Maggie
Maggie, '98 Scholar

Hi. My name is Maggie. I attend Brevard Community College in Florida. I'm studying chemical engineering. I have a learning disability. I had a summer internship at NASA. Working on the computer has helped me in school and in everyday activities. DO-IT let me see what college is like and what is expected of me.

Image of Blair
Blair, '98 Scholar

My name is Blair and I'm from Rigby, Idaho. I attend the University of Idaho and plan on earning a degree in physics. I will start my two-year mission for my church in the fall.

Image of Emily
Emily, '98 Scholar

My name is Emily and I am from Orlando, Florida. I attend Valencia Community College in Florida. My disability is Cerebral Palsy; I get around in my power wheelchair. I use Power Secretary and a laptop computer at school. My hobbies include reading mythology and science fiction, surfing the Net, and e-mailing friends.

Image of Kimberlee
Kimberlee, '98 Scholar

My name is Kimberlee, and I live in Gilbert, Arizona. In the near future, I would like to attend college, but I have a lot going on right now. Currently, I am working three part-time jobs. My interests include biology, education, science, math, animals, and lab work. I also like traveling. I think I'd like to be a teacher or a model. I have mild Cerebral Palsy and I KNOW THAT WON'T STOP ME FROM DOING ANYTHING THAT IS HARD FOR ME.

Image of Amy
Amy, '98 Scholar

My name is Amy. I live in Minnesota. I attend Cambridge Community College, and I'm majoring in journalism. My disability is Cerebral Palsy. I enjoy basketball, swimming, and going to movies. I'm also writing a novel in my spare time.

Image of Brian
Brian, '98 Scholar

My name is Brian. My home is in San Diego, California. My disability is Cerebral Palsy. I attend the University of Washington. I want to major in computer science and minor in business. I have participated in many sports. For example, when I was young, I played little league, karate, and track and field. My favorite sport is baseball. I also have my own Web site. My motto is "Never let anyone tell you that you can't do something."

Image of Landon
Landon, '98 Scholar

My name is Landon. I live in Washington state. I attend South Puget Sound Community College and major in accounting to hopefully become a CPA. I have been keeping track of my own stocks. I like computers, coin collecting, cards, and Nintendo. I have Methamalonic Acidemia, which caused a stroke that makes me not able to walk. I was an Intern in Summer Study '00.

Image of Jessica
Jessica, '98 Scholar

Hi. My name is Jessica. I attend Sante Fe Community College in New Mexico, where I got a 3.5 GPA spring quarter. My disability is Dyslexia. I enjoy art. I like to play on the computer and spend time with my family and friends.

Image of Nicki
Nick, '98 Scholar

My name is Nick. I am 21 years old. I have a vision impairment. I have had this disability my entire life. I attended the Indiana School for the Blind from 1986 to 1999. I now attend the University of Notre Dame. I will be graduating in the spring of 2003 with a double major in economics and computer applications. I have become a very busy person around the campus here in South Bend. I will be president of my dorm and I am president of the basketball fan club, The Leprechuan Legion. That's pretty much a "snapshot" of me right now.

Image of David
David, '98 Scholar

My name is David. I am from Portland, Oregon, and I attend Grinnell College in Iowa. I have one younger sister and one wonderful dog. I am an active member of the Grinell College Young Democrats and the Grinell Unitarians. I have congenital stationary night blindness as well as some motor deficiencies. I have interests in political science, economics, and history. I am also interested in accessibility! I have an accessibility guide on my Web site. My hobbies include watching sports and surfing on the Internet. I use a laptop at school to type all my work because I have poor handwriting. I couldn't survive without it. DO-IT has remained a strong force in my life, and I really appreciate its influence. I was an Intern in Summer Study '00.

Image of Jeff
Jeffrey, '98 Scholar

My name is Jeffrey. I live in Massachusetts. In 1985, I was diagnosed with Ataxia Telangiectasia, a rare neurological condition in which the motor movement center of the brain deterioates. I graduated from Middlesex Community College with a 3.86 GPA. I am now attending Northeastern University in Boston. I have a dual major in biology and geology. I am interested in all aspects of science, especially geology, earth science (plate tectonics), genetics, and paleontology. I also enjoy all sports. In fact, I played seven seasons of soccer while I was still mobile. DO-IT and the Internet give me access to resources that help me at school.

Image of Buddy
Buddy, '98 Scholar

My name is David (Buddy), and I'm from Alaska. I attend the University of Alaska. I have strong interests in computers and science. My disability is quadriplegia. I like baseball and hanging out with my friends, and I think "TV rocks."

Image of Wes
Wesley, '98 Scholar

My name is Wes. I am a computer science major at the University of Nebraska in Lincoln. I will be a junior in the fall. After completion of college, I would like to pursue a career in customer service, technical support, or computer programming. In my spare time, I enjoy surfing the Internet, hanging out with friends, listening to music, and reading.

Image of John Paul
John Paul, '98 Scholar

My name is John Paul, and I live in Montana. I attend the University of Montana, majoring in biology. I like to do a lot of outdoor sports like skiing, hiking, biking, and mountain climbing. I'm deaf. I lost my hearing when I was 11 from a sickness. I'm a nice guy. I get along well with others. I'm also funny. I enjoy math, science, English, and history, but foreign language classes are kind of hard. I want to be a dentist after college.

Image of Jessie
Jessie, '98 Scholar

Hi there, my name is Jessie. I attend Arizona State University, majoring in political science. Specifically, I am interested in international relations and the impact of globalization on society. I hope to pursue these interests at a more advanced level in law school. My disability is Cerebral Palsy, and as a result, I use a wheelchair to get around. In my free time, when I am not studying, I enjoy going to dinner and movies with friends. I also spend my free time working on a grant through ASU which helps high school and college students achieve greater independence and self-determination by means of participant-action research. I enjoy working with the grant, especially because it allows me to enable students with disabilities to reach their full potential, in much the same way as DO-IT did for me.

Image of Ivan
Ivan, '98 Scholar

My name is Ivan. I live in Timonium, Maryland. I am a senior at St. Mary's College of Maryland, where I live. My disabilities are Cerebral Palsy and a learning disability. I have interests in biology, chemistry, and physics. I was accepted into the Nitze Scholars Program at St. Mary's. In my spare time, I enjoy watching baseball and listening to music.

Image of Hank
Ronald "Hank", '98 Scholar

My name is Hank. I'm from Spokane, Washington, and I graduated from Shadle Park High School. My disability is blindness. I would like to attend computer or radio broadcasting college. I enjoy listening to old-time radio shows. I set up my own Internet radio station.

Image of Dustin
Dustin, '98 Scholar

My name is Dustin. I am a DO-IT Ambassador. I have Dyslexia. Currently, I am a senior at Ball State University (GO CARDS!) in Muncie, Indiana. I am majoring in Physical Education K-12, with an emphasis in elementary education. I enjoy running, playing volleyball, and most sports.

Image of Isiah
Isaiah, '98 Scholar

My name is Isaiah. I live in Oregon. I am a senior at Pacific University, majoring in teaching. My disability is Spinocerebellar Degeneration. My hobbies include travel, writing, and reading. I was an Intern in Summer Study '00.