A Sculpture Reader

Contemporary Sculpture Since 1980

Edited by Glenn Harper and Twylene Moyer

  • $29.95 paperback (9780295986210) Add to Cart
  • hardcover not available
  • Published: 2006
  • Subject Listing: Art
  • Bibliographic information: 292 pp., 83 color illus., 9 x 6.5 in.
  • Distributed for: ISC Press
  • Series: Perspectives in Contemporary Sculpture
  • Contents

A unique anthology of articles on contemporary sculptors drawn from the 25-year history of Sculpture magazine, A Sculpture Reader offers a valuable overview of three dimensional art since 1980. Focusing on individual artists rather than themes or movements, the 42 essays in A Sculpture Reader capture the wide-ranging possibilities that characterize contemporary sculpture.

"A Sculpture Reader is likely to be the definitive survey of contemporary sculpture. Virtually every sculptor of consequence is discussed in depth. The essays are clear and to the point. Highly recommended."
-Donald Kuspit, SUNY at Stony Brook

"A Sculpture Reader provides a fascinating overview of the development of sculpture since 1980, revealing key issues and artistic concerns that have carried through from the late 1960s to the present. This rich anthology of essays by a diverse set of authors presents a progressive view of critial thinking and the multivalent approaches to contemporary sculpture reflected in the works of Ann Hamilton, Olafur Eliasson, Jorge Pardo, Atelier von Lieshout, Karin Sander, and many other artists from around the world."
-Olga Visa, Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden

Foreword by Glenn Harper and Twylene Moyer

Introduction by Karen Wilkin

Michelangelo Pistoletto by Barry Schwabsky

Giuseppe Penone by Michael Brenson

Rebecca Horn by Ann Wilson Lloyd

Bruce Nauman by Ann Wilson Lloyd

Stephan Balkenhol by Stephanie Jacoby

Annette Messager by Judith Page

Jesus Soto by Ricardo Pau-Llosa

Martin Puryear by Matthew Kangas

Jorge Pardo by Michelle Grabner

Matthew McCaslin by Michael Klein

Robert Irwin by Carolee Thea

Teresita Fernandez by Anne Morgan

Heide Fasnacht by Kathleen Whitney

Atelier van Lieshout by Rebecca Cochran

Bernar Venet by Carter Ratcliff

James Carl by John Grande

Miguel Berrocal by Robert Morgan

Ken Unsworth by Ken Scarlett

Nils Udo by John Grande

Walter Zimmerman by Sherry Chayat

Karin Sander by Gregory Volk

Alison Wilding by Ian Tromp

Richard Long by Ian Tromp

Magdalena Jetelova by Elaine King

Tadaashi Kuwayama by Robert Morgan

Regina Frank by Cathy Byrd

Olafur Eliasson by Jane Ingram Allen

Beverly Semmes by Jane Allen

Jane Alexander by Marilyn Martin

Ravinder Reddy by Collette Chattopadhyay

Carsten Holler by Anja Chavez

Ann Hamilton by Judith Hoos Fox

Sook Jin Jo by Robert Morgan

Alice Aycock by Brooke Rapaport

Charles Ginnever by Bruce Nixon

Jonathan Borofsky by Michael Klein

Tony Oursler by Elaine King

David Ireland by Terri Cohn

Robert Morrison by William Fox

Judith Shea by Martin Friedman

Tom Otterness by Vince Carducci

Willie Cole by Rebecca Dimling Cochran

Photo Credits