News Release

UW Press books win prestigious Bookbuilders West and AAUP design awards

Speaking Havoc cover

Fables of La Fontaine cover

American Knees cover

Ehon cover

February 2007

Bookbuilders West, a nonprofit association founded in San Francisco in 1969, is an educational and professional resource for publishing professionals. Each entry was judged on its own merits -- regardless of category -- and evaluated for its excellence. Classifications used in judging included design, production, and manufacturing.

At the 36th Annual Show, Bookbuilders West highlighted four University of Washington Press books for awards in exceptional design. On the Road Again: Montana's Changing Landscape (designed by Pamela Canell), by William Wyckoff and Speaking Havoc: Social Suffering and South Asian Narratives (designed by Ashley Saleeba), by Ramu Nagappan won in the Reference and Scholarly books category, which includes highly specialized texts of primary interest to an academic or research readership.

The Fables of La Fontaine (designed by Audrey Meyer), by Koren and Constantine Christofides won in the Trade, Image Driven category, which includes books of general interest that are designed to maximize their illustrative appeal. These books are published primarily for their visual content, which consists of photographs, illustrations, or other graphics.

And, finally, American Knees (designed by Ashley Saleeba), by Shawn Wong won for in the Trade, Text Driven category, which includes book of general interest that are published primarily for their text content. Books in this category include, but are not limited to, fiction, nonfiction, prose, and poetry.

Also, the 2007 Association of American University Presses awards were announced and the University of Washington Press was honored to receive four awards. The winners include Missing the Breast: Gender Instability in the German Enlightenment (designed by Audrey Meyer), by Simon Richter in the Scholarly / Typographic category, Ehon: The Artist and the Book in Japan (designed by Jeff Wincapaw), by Roger Keyes in the Trade Illustrated category, and Boris Yeltsin and Russia's Democratic Transformation (designed by Ashley Saleeba), by Herbert J. Ellison in the Trade Typographic category.